First time using LMDE and question

All Gurus once were Newbies
Locked
exiledcourtney
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:40 am

First time using LMDE and question

Post by exiledcourtney » Wed Jan 27, 2016 2:26 am

Hi all I was origionally useing the regular linux mint but decided to see what LMDE was all about. Noticed you had to make the partions yourself and I made the extended partion only 1mb and wondering if there was away to make it bigger or can I just leave it? I mean I left 26gb freespace left.

Also first time using Debian and figured linux mint version was the way to go and wondered if anyone just had any advice in general.

User avatar
Pierre
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8778
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: First time using LMDE and question

Post by Pierre » Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:06 pm

you can use the Gparted in the live disk to modify that,
but - maybe use Gparted to post a picture of your HDD back here ?.
so that we can see what you did. ..
Image
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

User avatar
Gameranand
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 12:00 am

Re: First time using LMDE and question

Post by Gameranand » Mon Feb 01, 2016 12:58 pm

Yes Gparted would be best and its available from Software manager so you can easily install and manage the partitions.
In War, Victory. In Peace Vigilance. In Death Sacrifice.

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 12054
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: First time using LMDE and question

Post by austin.texas » Mon Feb 01, 2016 4:46 pm

A screenshot of the partitions in gparted would help, but otherwise, you can post the result of the command:

Code: Select all

sudo parted /dev/sda "print free"
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2018

User avatar
Crewp
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2517
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:36 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA

Re: First time using LMDE and question

Post by Crewp » Mon Feb 01, 2016 5:15 pm

Also first time using Debian and figured linux mint version was the way to go and wondered if anyone just had any advice in general.
Mint makes Debian a breeze, LMDE is based on Debian Stable so it is solid, you will probably not see much difference on the surface compared to Linux Mint's Main Edition.
Unless you used PPA's .
Image

Locked

Return to “Newbie Questions”