[SOLVED] LMDE2 and Samba

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Nubetastic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 9:03 am

[SOLVED] LMDE2 and Samba

Post by Nubetastic » Sun Jun 11, 2017 9:11 am

I try to share a folder, and it creates the file in usershare but does not show on the network. The printer folder is showing for the computer, but no the folder i set to share.

The smb.conf is default. I downloaded the newest link and installed it in virtual box.



Solution to my issue.

Code: Select all

sudo chmod 1770 /var/lib/samba/usershares



Reinstalled LMDE 2 Cinnamon in virtual box to go through samba setup for anyone else having samba issues in LMDE2 Cinnamon. Thanks to Altair4.
Full Update

Installed Samba

Added user to sambashare group (logout or restart after)

Added user to samba

Code: Select all

sudo smbpasswd -a username
If you cannot login to the share try. I did not try before doing this but it was not mentioned below in Altair4’s notes when he did his setup.

Code: Select all

sudo smbpasswd -e username
You should now be able to right click a folder, and select “Sharing Options” or “Properties” to set the folder to share.
Last edited by Nubetastic on Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

altair4
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9017
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: LMDE2 and Samba

Post by altair4 » Sun Jun 11, 2017 9:41 am

I do not use LMDE. I do not know what peculiarities exist in LMDE. So assuming Samba is Samba:

[1] What desktop environment are you using: Cinnamon or MATE?

[2] What is the operating system of the machine that is trying to access this machine?

If it's Windows or a mix of OS's go through the checklist first: Samba Browsing Problems Checklist

If it's another Linux box, a macOS box, or a Windows 10 box:

Open a terminal and type the following to get the exact host name of your machine:

Code: Select all

hostname
Then on the client machines use that hostname with a .local attached at the end. So if the ohter machine uses Mint Cinnamon open a terminal and type: nemo smb://hostname.local replacing "hostname" with the correct name.

Should none of that work please post the output of the following commands:

Code: Select all

testparm -s

Code: Select all

net usershare info --long
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

Nubetastic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 9:03 am

Re: LMDE2 and Samba

Post by Nubetastic » Sun Jun 11, 2017 2:12 pm

[1] Cinnamon
[2] Linux Mint 18, Cinnamon

I am trying to see the shares of the Cinnamon LMDE 2 on both OSes. I can see the print share from LMDE on both OSes but not the folder i set to share through Nemo.


hostname

Code: Select all

tom-pc
nemo smb://tom-pc.local, shows print$ only.

net usershare info --long

Code: Select all

[Public]
path=/home/tom/Public
comment=
usershare_acl=Everyone:R,TOM-PC\tom:F,
guest_ok=n
I added user tom and enabled it for samba. I added tom to user group sambashare, and set the needed folder group permissions for sambashare. I also had to install samba, using the gui software manager.

I have a share on my mint 18 OS and i can see and access it just fine from both OSes. I am just trying to get the rolling LMDE release to fit my needs and samba share is one of them.

altair4
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9017
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: LMDE2 and Samba

Post by altair4 » Sun Jun 11, 2017 5:54 pm

There's nothing wrong with the share definition and tom-pc.local works - at least you can see the server and the default print share. So what about testparm -s
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

Nubetastic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 9:03 am

Re: LMDE2 and Samba

Post by Nubetastic » Sun Jun 11, 2017 7:15 pm

Code: Select all

Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
Processing section "[homes]"
Processing section "[printers]"
Processing section "[print$]"
Loaded services file OK.
WARNING: state directory /var/lib/samba should have permissions 0755 for browsing to work

Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE

# Global parameters
[global]
	server role = standalone server
	map to guest = Bad User
	obey pam restrictions = Yes
	pam password change = Yes
	passwd program = /usr/bin/passwd %u
	passwd chat = *Enter\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *Retype\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *password\supdated\ssuccessfully* .
	unix password sync = Yes
	syslog = 0
	log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
	max log size = 1000
	dns proxy = No
	usershare allow guests = Yes
	panic action = /usr/share/samba/panic-action %d
	idmap config * : backend = tdb


[homes]
	comment = Home Directories
	valid users = %S
	create mask = 0700
	directory mask = 0700
	browseable = No


[printers]
	comment = All Printers
	path = /var/spool/samba
	create mask = 0700
	printable = Yes
	print ok = Yes
	browseable = No


[print$]
	comment = Printer Drivers
	path = /var/lib/samba/printers

I tried using Mint 18 smb.conf instead but get the same issue.

altair4
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9017
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: LMDE2 and Samba

Post by altair4 » Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:07 am

It looks like I will have to actually install LMDE to see if I can reproduce your symptoms since I can't from a Live session.

You might want to fix this error message since that one I can reproduce :
WARNING: state directory /var/lib/samba should have permissions 0755 for browsing to work

Code: Select all

sudo chmod 0755 /var/lib/samba
More of an FYI but you have a [homes] share enabled. The way this works when you have another linux machine as client is to specify the host then the LMDE user name as the share name. Like this:

Code: Select all

nemo smb://tom-pc.local/tom
Just don't forget to add tom to the samba password database - on the LMDE machine:

Code: Select all

sudo smbpasswd -a tom
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

mike acker
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1410
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: LMDE2 and Samba

Post by mike acker » Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:18 am

consider me added to the Interested Parties list

i have never been able to get Samba to work . i think we need an alternative that doesn't use any windows stuff -- workgroups -- etc
¡Viva la Resistencia!

altair4
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9017
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: LMDE2 and Samba

Post by altair4 » Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:22 am

mike acker wrote:consider me added to the Interested Parties list

i have never been able to get Samba to work . i think we need an alternative that doesn't use any windows stuff -- workgroups -- etc
Why not start your own thread. Post the output of the following commands so we can see how you are set up and what you've already done:

Code: Select all

testparm -s

Code: Select all

net usershare info --long
And you can run Samba without any "Windows stuff".
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

altair4
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9017
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: LMDE2 and Samba

Post by altair4 » Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:33 am

So this is what I did:

** Installed LMDE2 and updated it.
** Installed samba: sudo apt install samba
** Made myself a member of the sambashare group: sudo gpasswd -a tester sambashare
Why LMDE does not make you a member of this group by default is a mystery.

** Logged out and back again so the new group membership would take affect.
** Created a share of my Public folder using Nemo - I made it a fully public share allowing guest access.
** Accessed the share from Xubuntu: thunar smb://vlmde2.local/public
So far I can't reproduce your error.

Special note to Mike Acker: I just did this without any "Microsoft Stuff" - No workgroups, no master browser, no netbios, no nothin' Microsoft related.

Then I went about trying to break it.

Did this: sudo chmod 0777 /var/lib/samba
And got this warning in testparm: WARNING: state directory /var/lib/samba should have permissions 0755 for browsing to work. But that wasn't enough to break it.

But then I thought about this a bit ( it happens to me sometimes ) and on a hunch did the same thing to a subfolder: sudo chmod 0777 /var/lib/samba/usershares

And as me mum used to say: Bingo! I can only see the print$ share. I could not access it with a thunar smb://vlmde2.local/public - although I can access my home folder: thunar smb://vlmde2.local/tester because that is defined in smb.conf and is not a usershare.

Setting /var/lib/samba/usershares to 0777 breaks usershares. Set it back where it belongs:

Code: Select all

sudo chmod 1770 /var/lib/samba/usershares
If you run the following command:

Code: Select all

stat -c "%a %n %U %G" /var/lib/samba/usershares
It should come back with this:
1770 /var/lib/samba/usershares root sambashare
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

Nubetastic
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 9:03 am

Re: LMDE2 and Samba

Post by Nubetastic » Mon Jun 12, 2017 5:32 pm

you solved my issue thank you. I updated my first post with solution.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”