NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Pepi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

Postby Pepi » Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:38 pm

Was working great for weeks. Today I booted it up and it would startup and go to my login page. I would login and then it would say Cinnamon has crashed and is in fallback mode. My desktop is new and looks like MATE :?:

If I go to the Advance Mode in GRUB I have three options. 1. Just a regular boot up 2. Bootup with SYSTEMD 3. Recover Mode. If I pick 2 and boot with SYSTEMD my original desktop is back and I'm running Cinnamon and everything is normal. WTH is going on? Has to be GRUB I would think, but I have know idea how to fix it

Code: Select all

pepi@pepi ~ $ inxi -F
System:    Host: pepi Kernel: 3.16.0-4-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.4.4  Distro: LinuxMint 2 betsy
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: G73Jh v: 1.0
           Bios: American Megatrends v: G73Jh.205 date: 01/26/2010
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7 Q 720 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB
           Clock Speeds: 1: 933 MHz 2: 933 MHz 3: 933 MHz 4: 933 MHz
           5: 933 MHz 6: 933 MHz 7: 933 MHz 8: 933 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Broadway XT [Mobility Radeon HD 5870]
           Display Server: X.Org 1.16.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1600x900@60.31hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD JUNIPER
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.3.2
Audio:     Card-1 Intel 5 Series/3400 Series High Definition Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.16.0-4-amd64
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR8131 Gigabit Ethernet driver: atl1c
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: ea:eb:05:b1:a8:68
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
           driver: ath9k
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 1c:4b:d6:5c:1c:b4
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 282.1GB (3.7% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Crucial_CT250MX2 size: 250.1GB
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: Card_Reader size: 32.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 230G used: 9.8G (5%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 48.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 50.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 233 Uptime: 1 min Memory: 974.9/5910.1MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.1.28
pepi@pepi ~ $

Pepi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

Postby Pepi » Wed Aug 02, 2017 7:57 am

This is scary :( Nobody?

Is there anyway I can setup my GRUB to just run by default the SYSTEMD part of GRUB.

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11696
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

Postby austin.texas » Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:49 am

Try running

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2017

Pepi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

Postby Pepi » Wed Aug 02, 2017 9:39 am

Hi Austin:

First thing I tried and still have the same issue. Weird that everything is find if I use Advance and use SYSTEMD to run LMDE2

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11696
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

Postby austin.texas » Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:05 am

I am not an expert on either systemd or LMDE2, but my guess is that you were running an older version of Cinnamon/LMDE which did not use systemd. That was updated to the latest Cinnamon/LMDE2 which brought in systemd. So, now your Grub menu gives you that option.

Pepi wrote:Is there anyway I can setup my GRUB to just run by default the SYSTEMD part of GRUB.

Yes.
Please post the result of

Code: Select all

cat /boot/grub/grub.cfg
Inside CODE tags
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2017

Pepi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

Postby Pepi » Wed Aug 02, 2017 10:44 am

Code: Select all

pepi@pepi ~ $ cat /boot/grub/grub.cfg
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  set have_grubenv=true
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}
function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos1'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ] ; then
  set timeout=-1
else
  if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
    set timeout_style=menu
    set timeout=5
  # Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
  # unavailable.
  else
    set timeout=5
  fi
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
set menu_color_normal=cyan/blue
set menu_color_highlight=white/blue
### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/06_mint_theme ###
set menu_color_normal=white/black
set menu_color_highlight=white/light-gray
### END /etc/grub.d/06_mint_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
function gfxmode {
   set gfxpayload="${1}"
}
set linux_gfx_mode=
export linux_gfx_mode
menuentry 'LMDE 2 Cinnamon 64-bit' --class linuxmint --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a' {
   load_video
   insmod gzio
   if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='hd0,msdos1'
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
   fi
   echo   'Loading Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 ...'
   linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64 root=UUID=00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a ro  quiet splash
   echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
   initrd   /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-4-amd64
}
submenu 'Advanced options for LMDE 2 Cinnamon 64-bit' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a' {
   menuentry 'LMDE 2 Cinnamon 64-bit, with Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64' --class linuxmint --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-3.16.0-4-amd64-advanced-00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a' {
      load_video
      insmod gzio
      if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
      insmod part_msdos
      insmod ext2
      set root='hd0,msdos1'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
      fi
      echo   'Loading Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 ...'
      linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64 root=UUID=00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a ro  quiet splash
      echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
      initrd   /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-4-amd64
   }
   menuentry 'LMDE 2 Cinnamon 64-bit, with Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 (systemd)' --class linuxmint --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-3.16.0-4-amd64-init-systemd-00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a' {
      load_video
      insmod gzio
      if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
      insmod part_msdos
      insmod ext2
      set root='hd0,msdos1'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
      fi
      echo   'Loading Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 ...'
      linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64 root=UUID=00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a ro  quiet splash init=/lib/systemd/systemd
      echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
      initrd   /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-4-amd64
   }
   menuentry 'LMDE 2 Cinnamon 64-bit, with Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 (recovery mode)' --class linuxmint --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-3.16.0-4-amd64-recovery-00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a' {
      load_video
      insmod gzio
      if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
      insmod part_msdos
      insmod ext2
      set root='hd0,msdos1'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
      fi
      echo   'Loading Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 ...'
      linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64 root=UUID=00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a ro single
      echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
      initrd   /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-4-amd64
   }
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+)" {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='hd0,msdos1'
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
   fi
   linux16   /boot/memtest86+.bin
}
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)" {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='hd0,msdos1'
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
   fi
   linux16   /boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
}
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, experimental multiboot)" {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='hd0,msdos1'
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
   fi
   multiboot   /boot/memtest86+_multiboot.bin
}
menuentry "Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200, experimental multiboot)" {
   insmod part_msdos
   insmod ext2
   set root='hd0,msdos1'
   if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
   else
     search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
   fi
   multiboot   /boot/memtest86+_multiboot.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
}
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
pepi@pepi ~ $

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11696
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

Postby austin.texas » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:04 am

The systemd menuentry that works is the 3d menuentry in grub.cfg
To make that the default boot, open /etc/default/grub in your text editor (my text editor is xed)

Code: Select all

gksudo xed /etc/default/grub

Change this line: GRUB_DEFAULT=0
Change it to: (numbering starts from 0) GRUB_DEFAULT=2
Save the file,and update grub

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2017

Pepi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

Postby Pepi » Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:15 pm

I tried this but it just took me to the memory check bootup. I need to get the the Advance menu first :?:

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11696
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

Postby austin.texas » Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:23 pm

Sorry that did not work. So that I can see if the grub.cfg was changed in an unexpected way by sudo update-grub please post the result of

Code: Select all

grep -i "menuentry '" /boot/grub/grub.cfg|sed -r "s|--class .*$||g"|nl -v 0
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2017

Pepi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

Postby Pepi » Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:49 pm

Number 2 is the one that works in the Advance menu sub. Using 1 or 3 and Cinnamon will crash into fallback mode?

Code: Select all

pepi@pepi ~ $ grep -i "menuentry '" /boot/grub/grub.cfg|sed -r "s|--class .*$||g"|nl -v 0
     0   menuentry 'LMDE 2 Cinnamon 64-bit'
     1      menuentry 'LMDE 2 Cinnamon 64-bit, with Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64'
     2      menuentry 'LMDE 2 Cinnamon 64-bit, with Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 (systemd)'
     3      menuentry 'LMDE 2 Cinnamon 64-bit, with Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 (recovery mode)'
pepi@pepi ~ $

User avatar
austin.texas
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11696
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

Postby austin.texas » Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:10 pm

Pepi wrote:Number 2 is the one that works in the Advance menu sub.

Correct. That is why I suggested GRUB_DEFAULT=2
It shows as #2 above.

I guess we have to get "creative" with it.
Open /etc/default/grub in your text editor again:

Code: Select all

gksudo xed /etc/default/grub

Change it to: GRUB_DEFAULT=3
Save the file.
Open /etc/grub.d/40_custom in your text editor:

Code: Select all

gksudo xed /etc/grub.d/40_custom

Add your systemd menuentry, so that the complete file looks exactly like this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.

   menuentry 'LMDE 2 Cinnamon - SYSTEMD - Linux Kernel 3.16.0-4-amd64' --class linuxmint --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-3.16.0-4-amd64-init-systemd-00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a' {
      load_video
      insmod gzio
      if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
      insmod part_msdos
      insmod ext2
      set root='hd0,msdos1'
      if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
      else
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a
      fi
      echo   'Loading Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 ...'
      linux   /boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-4-amd64 root=UUID=00dcac8b-9a05-4870-97ef-6ccb8deb9f1a ro  quiet splash init=/lib/systemd/systemd
      echo   'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
      initrd   /boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-4-amd64
   }

Save the file, and update grub

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
Mint 18.2 Cinnamon, Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Linux Linx 2017

Pepi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: NOW what happened to my LMDE2 Cinnamon?

Postby Pepi » Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:07 pm

Thanks so much Austin!!!! I did have to change the default to 6 but now it works :mrgreen: I still wonder what happen though? I kind of feel my system is a bit flawed but hell it works now :lol:


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest