How much computer/linux/non-linux experience for LMDE?

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
SlappySquirl

How much computer/linux/non-linux experience for LMDE?

Post by SlappySquirl »

I'm a total noob to linux, I've been a Windows user for many years, have used most Win versions since 2000 (2000, XP, Vista, 7, now 10). I find Win 10 to be a little bloated and slow, I got a couple of cheap netbooks (Dell Latitude 2100) from a friend, I've been trying different flavours of linux (LXDE, Xubuntu, Lubuntu, Zorin, Light, Bodhi) and have finally settled on Mint.

With this crappy netbook (2x Atom CPUs @ 1.60GHz, 2051MB memory) I find I need something super light, after playing around with some linux distros, I think I like Mint the most, I find XFCE and LMDE2 the lightest of all the Mint flavours.

I'd like to use Mint, and in the future (couple of years??) move to Debian.
I've read some basic information about LMDE, stating that it's a version of the OS which is lighter than the rest, yet not more experienced users.

Just for a little background on my computer experience, I've installed almost all windows versions as stated above, from scratch. I've usually partitioned my system with a C: & D: partition for the OS and D: for all user folders, to make re-installation easier. I know how to setup and use anti-viruses, firewall and sand-boxing effectively to keep my computer clean (haven't had a security issue in years). Even thought I'm the only user on my laptops, I use a standard user account for daily use and an administrator one to troubleshoot and install/update stuff about twice a month (both password protected).

While I completely understand that linux is completely different under the hood to windows, would some of that previous experience be useful with LMDE or is the difference just too great to plunge straight to LMDE? Is some linux experience a MUST to use LMDE??

Thanks!!
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.