Help me switch to Cinnamon

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

LMDE 2 support ends on 1-1-2019
Post Reply
ddurdle
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:03 am

Help me switch to Cinnamon

Post by ddurdle » Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:51 am

I'm a very long term user of LMDE (since 2012). I've been using LMDE 2 Mate. I've come accustom to my window manager and I'll find it hard to upgrade to LMDE 3 with Mate killed off.

I'm using Mate with Compiz. I've tried Cinnamon a long time back with LMDE but it was lacking a lot of key "day to day" features I required. But Cinnamon was in it's infancy back then, so I'm willing to re-evaluate.

I had a browse through some extensions for Cinnamon, looking for solutions for these key features I require:

Rotating desktop (found some solutions) -- good
Making a window sticky (always on top) -- never found any explicit extension for this
Resizing windows
Some dock similar to cario dock
ability to move the panel around on screen (screenshot attached)

When I am working on lite tasks, I often want to have a small video playing, so I usually make the player window sticky and resize it to thumbnail size and place it in an unused corner on the screen. This is where the sticky window and resize window comes into play. If I can find a solution for this in Cinnamon, I'll be sold.
Attachments
Screenshot at 2018-10-20 09-50-59.png

deepakdeshp
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3925
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Help me switch to Cinnamon

Post by deepakdeshp » Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:21 am

You can test the Cinnamon features by creating a love usb and booting from it.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 19 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6271
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Help me switch to Cinnamon

Post by Flemur » Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:26 am

deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:21 am
creating a love usb
Awww.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

User avatar
smurphos
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2231
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher...

Re: Help me switch to Cinnamon

Post by smurphos » Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:41 am

Always on top is available via right-click on the titlebar of any windowed app in Cinnamon.

Similarly resizing Windows is just a case of grabbing a corner or edge with the mouse and dragging. There are a few exceptions for applications that hard code minimum dimensions but that's not a Cinnamon specific issue.

For video specifically you might find this thread useful - viewtopic.php?p=1471320#p1471320

For the dock - you can install Cairo or Plank in Cinnamon same as any other Desktop Environment.

Panels can't be dragged around, but they can be moved to any of the 4 screen edges and you can have 1 to 4 panels set up in a single monitor set up.

deepakdeshp
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3925
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Help me switch to Cinnamon

Post by deepakdeshp » Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:29 pm

Flemur wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:26 am
deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:21 am
creating a love usb
Awww.
I meant live usb. Alas it was possible to make a love usb
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 19 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
smurphos
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2231
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher...

Re: Help me switch to Cinnamon

Post by smurphos » Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:34 pm

deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:29 pm
I meant live usb. Alas it was possible to make a love usb
Like this one? https://imgur.com/gallery/obS8wgM

deepakdeshp
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3925
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Help me switch to Cinnamon

Post by deepakdeshp » Sat Oct 20, 2018 1:29 pm

smurphos wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:34 pm
deepakdeshp wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 12:29 pm
I meant live usb. Alas it was possible to make a love usb
Like this one? https://imgur.com/gallery/obS8wgM
That's damn funny.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 19 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

ddurdle
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 10:03 am

Re: Help me switch to Cinnamon

Post by ddurdle » Thu Oct 25, 2018 9:03 pm

smurphos wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:41 am
Always on top is available via right-click on the titlebar of any windowed app in Cinnamon.

Similarly resizing Windows is just a case of grabbing a corner or edge with the mouse and dragging. There are a few exceptions for applications that hard code minimum dimensions but that's not a Cinnamon specific issue.

For video specifically you might find this thread useful - viewtopic.php?p=1471320#p1471320

For the dock - you can install Cairo or Plank in Cinnamon same as any other Desktop Environment.

Panels can't be dragged around, but they can be moved to any of the 4 screen edges and you can have 1 to 4 panels set up in a single monitor set up.
Thanks for the info.

Regarding "resizing window", I really mean resizing and scaling. See screenshot where I show a youtube page that has been resized. This is ideal for online videos and other content that cannot be easily played back in an external player that allows scaling the video.
Attachments
Screenshot at 2018-10-25 21-02-03.png

User avatar
smurphos
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2231
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher...

Re: Help me switch to Cinnamon

Post by smurphos » Fri Oct 26, 2018 12:14 am

That's controlled by your browser - rescaling works fine for me in Chrome on Cinnamon.

Image

That reminds me Chrome has also got a new picture in picture mode - you need an extension to enable it ...https://chrome.google.com/webstore/deta ... klaeopbecg or https://github.com/beaufortfrancois/pic ... extension/

Image

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”