Hangs on installation... (SOLVED)

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
tenfoot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 818
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Hangs on installation... (SOLVED)

Postby tenfoot » Sat Apr 11, 2015 3:09 am

LMDE2 Betsy - Cinnamon

Have tried to install on four separate occasions, without success.

Computer hangs when pressing Forward icon after completing account information. Eventually dialogue asking whether I wish to Wait or Force Quit.

Have tried to install from shortcut icon on Desktop and from choosing the icon in the Menu. Both give the same result.

Is anyone else having this problem. If so, have you managed to overcome it, please?
Last edited by tenfoot on Mon Sep 21, 2015 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
tenfoot
I'm so old I remember when fame was a by-product of talent.

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5309
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby killer de bug » Sat Apr 11, 2015 5:54 am

Could you please launch the installer from a terminal and post the error message?
Image
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby Monsta » Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:10 am

Yes, run it from the terminal and post the whole output here:

Code: Select all

gksu live-installer

User avatar
tenfoot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 818
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby tenfoot » Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:42 pm

Monsta wrote:Yes, run it from the terminal and post the whole output here:

Code: Select all

gksu live-installer


Thanks for the prompt response. The result is given below.

Code: Select all

 mint@mint ~ $ gksu live-installer
Error adding locale 'awk: warning: escape sequence `\.' treated as plain `.''
Error adding locale 'ayc_PE'
Error adding locale 'brx_IN'
Error adding locale 'cmn_TW'
Error adding locale 'hak_TW'
Error adding locale 'hne_IN'
Error adding locale 'iw_IL'
Error adding locale 'lij_IT'
Error adding locale 'lzh_TW'
Error adding locale 'mhr_RU'
Error adding locale 'nan_TW'
Error adding locale 'nhn_MX'
Error adding locale 'pap_AN'
Error adding locale 'quz_PE'
Error adding locale 'shs_CA'
Error adding locale 'szl_PL'
Error adding locale 'the_NP'
Error adding locale 'unm_US'
Error adding locale 'wae_CH'
Error adding locale 


I've also downloaded and tried to install LMDE2 - Betsy "MATE" with the same result.

Any help appreciated.
tenfoot
I'm so old I remember when fame was a by-product of talent.

Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby Monsta » Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:09 am

That doesn't look like the complete output. The installer shows some other info (timezone, partitions, etc.) in the terminal as you proceed.

User avatar
tenfoot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 818
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby tenfoot » Sun Apr 12, 2015 4:35 pm

Monsta wrote:That doesn't look like the complete output. The installer shows some other info (timezone, partitions, etc.) in the terminal as you proceed.


Again, thank you for a prompt response.

After entering the command in the terminal, the installer "Languager" window appears. This time I proceeded with the installation with the terminal window still open and you will see the additional output. Everything went well - through the Language, Timezone and Keyboard windows but halted on the User info window. As soon as I clicked on Forward the computer froze.

The full output from the command is given below.

Code: Select all

mint@mint ~ $ gksu live-installer
Error adding locale 'awk: warning: escape sequence `\.' treated as plain `.''
Error adding locale 'ayc_PE'
Error adding locale 'brx_IN'
Error adding locale 'cmn_TW'
Error adding locale 'hak_TW'
Error adding locale 'hne_IN'
Error adding locale 'iw_IL'
Error adding locale 'lij_IT'
Error adding locale 'lzh_TW'
Error adding locale 'mhr_RU'
Error adding locale 'nan_TW'
Error adding locale 'nhn_MX'
Error adding locale 'pap_AN'
Error adding locale 'quz_PE'
Error adding locale 'shs_CA'
Error adding locale 'szl_PL'
Error adding locale 'the_NP'
Error adding locale 'unm_US'
Error adding locale 'wae_CH'
Error adding locale 'yue_HK'

Timezone: Pacific/Auckland (UTC+1200) (760, 349)
Color: #ffcc00, Image: timezone_12.0.png
Excluding /dev/sr (detected as the live device)
Can't find model in blkid output: ['loop', 'loop0', '0', '1.3G']
Disks:  [('/dev/sda', 'ST3160023AS (159 GB)'), ('/dev/sdb', 'ST3500641AS (500 GB)')]



Note: When I click to close the terminal window a dialogue appears which informs me a process is still running.

I cannot close the installation window and have to resort to a Ctrl+Alt+Delete to restart.
tenfoot
I'm so old I remember when fame was a by-product of talent.

Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby Monsta » Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:35 am

tenfoot wrote:As soon as I clicked on Forward the computer froze.

Did it freeze right away, still showing the account info screen, or did it proceed to the next screen before freezing?


tenfoot wrote:

Code: Select all

Disks:  [('/dev/sda', 'ST3160023AS (159 GB)'), ('/dev/sdb', 'ST3500641AS (500 GB)')]

Can you post the output of this command?

Code: Select all

sudo fdisk -l

User avatar
tenfoot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 818
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby tenfoot » Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:13 pm

Monsta wrote:
tenfoot wrote:As soon as I clicked on Forward the computer froze.

Did it freeze right away, still showing the account info screen, or did it proceed to the next screen before freezing?

It froze right away and the account info screen remained.

tenfoot wrote:

Code: Select all

Disks:  [('/dev/sda', 'ST3160023AS (159 GB)'), ('/dev/sdb', file:///home/mint/Desktop/sdb.png
'ST3500641AS (500 GB)')]

Can you post the output of this command?

Code: Select all

sudo fdisk -l


Other information which may be of assistance,.

The computer is a Dell desktop with a 500GB HDD.This is partitioned into sda and sdb: sda has Windows7 and sdb is partitioned for LMDE2-Betsy. A screenshot of both partitions is attached - I hope!

Code: Select all

Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x7e949d92

Device     Boot  Start       End   Sectors   Size Id Type
/dev/sda1  *      2048    206847    204800   100M  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2       206848 312496127 312289280 148.9G  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

Disk /dev/sdb: 465.8 GiB, 500107862016 bytes, 976773168 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0xc80aa937

Device     Boot    Start      End  Sectors  Size Id Type
/dev/sdb1           2048 29296639 29294592   14G 83 Linux
/dev/sdb2       29298686 91889663 62590978 29.9G  5 Extended
/dev/sdb5       29300736 85745663 56444928 26.9G 83 Linux
/dev/sdb6       85747712 91889663  6141952    3G 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/loop0: 1.3 GiB, 1423540224 bytes, 2780352 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
mint@mint ~ $
Attachments
sdb.png
sda1.png
tenfoot
I'm so old I remember when fame was a by-product of talent.

User avatar
Fifis
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 8:34 am

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby Fifis » Mon Apr 13, 2015 10:15 pm

Oddly enough, I managed to overcome this problem by stopping the installer in terminal via Ctrl+C... and then it magically unfroze and continued to the disk selection screen. See for yourself:

Code: Select all

mint@mint ~/Desktop $ gksu live-installer
Error adding locale 'awk: warning: escape sequence `\.' treated as plain `.''
Error adding locale 'ayc_PE'
Error adding locale 'brx_IN'
Error adding locale 'cmn_TW'
Error adding locale 'hak_TW'
Error adding locale 'hne_IN'
Error adding locale 'iw_IL'
Error adding locale 'lij_IT'
Error adding locale 'lzh_TW'
Error adding locale 'mhr_RU'
Error adding locale 'nan_TW'
Error adding locale 'nhn_MX'
Error adding locale 'pap_AN'
Error adding locale 'quz_PE'
Error adding locale 'shs_CA'
Error adding locale 'szl_PL'
Error adding locale 'the_NP'
Error adding locale 'unm_US'
Error adding locale 'wae_CH'
Error adding locale 'yue_HK'
Timezone: Europe/Paris (UTC+0200) (377, 143)
Color: #552200, Image: timezone_1.0.png
a   Excluding /dev/sdc (detected as the live device)
Can't find model in blkid output: ['loop', 'loop0', '0', '1.3G']
Disks:  [('/dev/sda', 'Hitachi HTS54505 (500 GB)'), ('/dev/sdb', 'SanDisk SSD i100 (24 GB)')]
^C
mint@mint ~/Desktop $ Showing ErrorDialog (<b>Please select an EFI partit ...)
Showing ErrorDialog (<b>Please select an EFI partit ...)
Showing ErrorDialog (<b>Please select an EFI partit ...)
Showing ErrorDialog (The EFI partition is not boota ...)
Excluding /dev/sdc (detected as the live device)
Can't find model in blkid output: ['loop', 'loop0', '0', '1.3G']
Disks:  [('/dev/sda', 'Hitachi HTS54505 (500 GB)'), ('/dev/sdb', 'SanDisk SSD i100 (24 GB)')]
Showing ErrorDialog (<b>Please select an EFI partit ...)
Showing ErrorDialog (The EFI partition is not boota ...)
Excluding /dev/sdc (detected as the live device)
Can't find model in blkid output: ['loop', 'loop0', '0', '1.3G']
Disks:  [('/dev/sda', 'Hitachi HTS54505 (500 GB)'), ('/dev/sdb', 'SanDisk SSD i100 (24 GB)')]
WARNING: Partition /dev/sda1 or type 0 failed to mount!
WARNING: Partition /dev/sda2 or type 0 failed to mount!
WARNING: Partition /dev/sda5 or type 1 failed to mount!
Showing ErrorDialog (<b>Please select a root (/) pa ...)
Showing ErrorDialog (The EFI partition is not boota ...)
Showing ErrorDialog (The EFI partition is not boota ...)
Excluding /dev/sdc (detected as the live device)
Can't find model in blkid output: ['loop', 'loop0', '0', '1.3G']
Disks:  [('/dev/sda', 'Hitachi HTS54505 (500 GB)'), ('/dev/sdb', 'SanDisk SSD i100 (24 GB)')]
WARNING: Partition /dev/sda1 or type 0 failed to mount!
Showing ErrorDialog (The EFI partition must be form ...)
 ## INSTALLATION
Template path: /usr/share/live-installer/slideshow/template.html
 --> Installation started
EXECUTING: 'mkfs.ext4 -F /dev/sda5'
EXECUTING: 'mkfs.vfat /dev/sdb1 -F 32'
 --> Mounting partitions
 ------ Mounting /lib/live/mount/medium/live/filesystem.squashfs on /source/
EXECUTING: 'mount -o loop -t squashfs /lib/live/mount/medium/live/filesystem.squashfs /source/'
 ------ Mounting partition /dev/sda5 on /target/
EXECUTING: 'mount -t ext4 /dev/sda5 /target'
 ------ Mounting /dev/sdb1 on /target/boot/efi
EXECUTING: 'mount -t vfat /dev/sdb1 /target/boot/efi'
 --> Indexing files
 --> Copying files
 --> Restoring meta-info
 --> Chrooting
chroot /target/ /bin/sh -c "dpkg -i /debs/*"
Selecting previously unselected package efibootmgr.
...


However, methinks this issue is too critical. Imagine a stable release that cannot be installed without an inspired guess about the terminal... please, would you be so kind to fix this bug and update the installer ISO?
(Je m’appelle / My name is / Меня зовут) Andreï Kostyrka, (et c’est ma page d’accueil / and this is my website / и вот мой сайт): http://kostyrka.ru.
Vous pouvez m’addresser en Français. You can write to me in English. Можете писать мне по-русски.

User avatar
tenfoot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 818
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby tenfoot » Tue Apr 14, 2015 4:08 am

Hi!

It certainly was an inspired guess :lol:

I did the same with the same result and have taken a risk and am installing it on my second computer at this very moment. I'll report any problems.

I agree with you, though, that this problem should be sorted out,

Edit: I won't marked this "Solved" at present but wait until the installation is finished and I've had time to see whether any issues arise.
tenfoot
I'm so old I remember when fame was a by-product of talent.

vito_spatafore
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 5:44 pm

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby vito_spatafore » Tue Apr 14, 2015 12:38 pm

dude...plz use the code

Code: Select all

[color=#FF0000]TAGS[/color]
next time... :idea:

rbeltz48
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 3:08 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby rbeltz48 » Tue Apr 14, 2015 2:06 pm

I was able to normally run live and install the LMDE 2 MATE 64-bit version on my Lenovo Thinkpad T61. However, the 32-bit version has problems and would not even run live OK or install correctly. In the live mode, it will only run in compatibility mode. If you try to run it live normally it will hang up on a black screen. I was able to install it but then it only runs in recovery mode. There are serious problems with this 32-bit version which need to be addressed. I have never had problems this serious with Linux Mint since I started using it with LM 12 3-1/2 years ago. All versions have run out of the box until now. I hope this problem gets back to Clem and his team.

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5309
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby killer de bug » Tue Apr 14, 2015 2:46 pm

I did not encountered this problem with the installer when I tested the iso.
There has to be something specific that triggers it! :|
Image
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

Monsta
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2994
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby Monsta » Wed Apr 15, 2015 5:09 am

tenfoot wrote:The computer is a Dell desktop with a 500GB HDD.This is partitioned into sda and sdb: sda has Windows7 and sdb is partitioned for LMDE2-Betsy. A screenshot of both partitions is attached - I hope!

Thanks for posting the screenshots in addition to fdisk output.
I still can't reproduce the issue and don't know what might be causing it, so I'll have to ask you for an experiment.
I see you have two physical HDDs. If you don't mind and have some time to do it, disconnect one of them (I mean, unplug both power and data cables) and run the installer again. No need to actually install Betsy, just check if the installer still freezes at the account screen or proceeds to the partitions screen.
Then connect that HDD back and disconnect the other one, and do the same check again.

User avatar
tenfoot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 818
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:12 am
Location: Waipapa, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby tenfoot » Wed Apr 15, 2015 4:32 pm

Monsta wrote:
tenfoot wrote:The computer is a Dell desktop with a 500GB HDD.This is partitioned into sda and sdb: sda has Windows7 and sdb is partitioned for LMDE2-Betsy. A screenshot of both partitions is attached - I hope!

Thanks for posting the screenshots in addition to fdisk output.
I still can't reproduce the issue and don't know what might be causing it, so I'll have to ask you for an experiment.
I see you have two physical HDDs. If you don't mind and have some time to do it, disconnect one of them (I mean, unplug both power and data cables) and run the installer again. No need to actually install Betsy, just check if the installer still freezes at the account screen or proceeds to the partitions screen.
Then connect that HDD back and disconnect the other one, and do the same check again.



Thanks, Monsta. I'll do as you suggest but it may be some time before I get back to you as "real" life is getting in the way of my interests at present :lol:
tenfoot
I'm so old I remember when fame was a by-product of talent.

uncleguido
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby uncleguido » Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:05 am

tenfoot wrote:LMDE2 Betsy - Cinnamon

Have tried to install on four separate occasions, without success.

Computer hangs when pressing Forward icon after completing account information. Eventually dialogue asking whether I wish to Wait or Force Quit.

Have tried to install from shortcut icon on Desktop and from choosing the icon in the Menu. Both give the same result.

Is anyone else having this problem. If so, have you managed to overcome it, please?



I'm having same issue. Tried with 2 different usb drives and burning to a dvd.
Any help on this would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5309
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby killer de bug » Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:17 am

please run the installer from command line as explained in this thread.
Then please, post the message you will get so that we can analyze it.

Thanks.
Image
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

uncleguido
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby uncleguido » Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:26 am

killer de bug wrote:please run the installer from command line as explained in this thread.
Then please, post the message you will get so that we can analyze it.

Thanks.


This is running off DVD. I will post error messages from USB shortly.

Code: Select all

mint@mint ~ $ gksu live-installer
Error adding locale 'awk: warning: escape sequence `\.' treated as plain `.''
Error adding locale 'ayc_PE'
Error adding locale 'brx_IN'
Error adding locale 'cmn_TW'
Error adding locale 'hak_TW'
Error adding locale 'hne_IN'
Error adding locale 'iw_IL'
Error adding locale 'lij_IT'
Error adding locale 'lzh_TW'
Error adding locale 'mhr_RU'
Error adding locale 'nan_TW'
Error adding locale 'nhn_MX'
Error adding locale 'pap_AN'
Error adding locale 'quz_PE'
Error adding locale 'shs_CA'
Error adding locale 'szl_PL'
Error adding locale 'the_NP'
Error adding locale 'unm_US'
Error adding locale 'wae_CH'
Error adding locale 'yue_HK'
Timezone: America/New_York (UTC-0400) (208, 165)
Color: #ff2a2a, Image: timezone_-5.0.png
Excluding /dev/sr (detected as the live device)
Can't find model in blkid output: ['loop', 'loop0', '0', '1.3G']
Disks:  [('/dev/sda', 'ST3500418AS (500 GB)')]



From USB drive

Code: Select all

mint@mint ~ $ gksu live-installer
Error adding locale 'awk: warning: escape sequence `\.' treated as plain `.''
Error adding locale 'ayc_PE'
Error adding locale 'brx_IN'
Error adding locale 'cmn_TW'
Error adding locale 'hak_TW'
Error adding locale 'hne_IN'
Error adding locale 'iw_IL'
Error adding locale 'lij_IT'
Error adding locale 'lzh_TW'
Error adding locale 'mhr_RU'
Error adding locale 'nan_TW'
Error adding locale 'nhn_MX'
Error adding locale 'pap_AN'
Error adding locale 'quz_PE'
Error adding locale 'shs_CA'
Error adding locale 'szl_PL'
Error adding locale 'the_NP'
Error adding locale 'unm_US'
Error adding locale 'wae_CH'
Error adding locale 'yue_HK'
Timezone: America/New_York (UTC-0400) (208, 165)
Color: #ff2a2a, Image: timezone_-5.0.png
Excluding /dev/sdb (detected as the live device)
Can't find model in blkid output: ['loop', 'loop0', '0', '1.3G']
Disks:  [('/dev/sda', 'ST3500418AS (500 GB)')]




That's weird, yesterday I was getting another error from USB drive.

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5309
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby killer de bug » Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:36 am

Is this solving your problem?

Oddly enough, I managed to overcome this problem by stopping the installer in terminal via Ctrl+C... and then it magically unfroze and continued to the disk selection screen.
Image
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

uncleguido
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Hangs on installation...

Postby uncleguido » Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:40 am

killer de bug wrote:Is this solving your problem?

Oddly enough, I managed to overcome this problem by stopping the installer in terminal via Ctrl+C... and then it magically unfroze and continued to the disk selection screen.


This is weird. I tried what you've mentioned yesterday and it didn't work. Tried it again it continued through. :shock:


Return to “Installation & Boot”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest