Feedback on LMDE installation

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
cedric12

Feedback on LMDE installation

Post by cedric12 »

Hi all,

I am relatively new to Linux and had decided this morning to switch from Mint 17.2 to LMDE Betsy. I knew it might be complicated, but maybe not as much...! Here's a feedback of the difficulties I had to overcome during installation
  • After wiping my hardrive and while the installer was copying files, I encountered an ERRN5 INPUT/OUTPUT error. I believe it happened when I plugged the AC chord while it was copying the files (although I was around 40% battery). The installer crashed, and all subsequent tries gave the same error. I came to believe that the USB key was corrupt. I fiddled around a bit, and for some reason after a system restart the installation went through to the end.
  • I successfully restarted and was met with the login screen, where I happily entered the credentials I had just created, thinking my troubles were over. But my credentials were systematically refused. I tried with Ctrl Alt F2, all refused as well. I booted once again onto the usb key and did a fresh install with new credentials thinking i'd been stupid enough to mistype the password. Same thing on second try... after some searching on Debian wikis, I successfully added a new user from the recovery mode and was able to login from this. I noticed that there was no other user (meaning none had been created during installation!) and that my root password was working when asked by the terminal in recovery mode. Strange.
  • Now I have a problem with software render mode being shown on cinnamon start.. I understand it has to do with intel drivers not being installed, however I have not yet found how to install them on a debian based distro
  • The boot sequence still shows me the login screen although I've checked automatic login from the users and groups page.
It would be a good thing to have some info that is not covered by the guides such as: