LMDE 2 to LMDE 3

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
cookiem
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 6:04 pm

LMDE 2 to LMDE 3

Postby cookiem » Mon Jan 23, 2017 8:19 pm

Will LMDE 2 automatically update itself to LMDE 3 when it's released?

If so, how can I prevent this from happening?

User avatar
Crewp
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2522
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 8:36 pm
Location: Connecticut,USA

Re: LMDE 2 to LMDE 3

Postby Crewp » Mon Jan 23, 2017 9:46 pm

I do not think the verdict is in yet, I asked if we would be able to upgrade from LMDE2 to LMDE3, but was told, it is to soon to tell. But I have never seen Mint do an auto upgrade. And to be honest, never seen that in the Linux world. But keep reading the Mint blogs as we should start to hear about LMDE3 sometime after Debian 9 Stretch is released.
Image

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5313
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: LMDE 2 to LMDE 3

Postby killer de bug » Tue Jan 24, 2017 7:43 am

LMDE being based on Debian stable, an upgrade path is more than likely. Since years, people are able to update from one Debian release to the other. There is no reason why it should be different next time.
Image
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

titetanium
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:26 pm

Re: LMDE 2 to LMDE 3

Postby titetanium » Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:11 pm

I have Debian stretch stable with LMDE Betsy packages installed, it was a major pain switching from Jessie to Stretch. Fortunately, I sorted it all out by commenting out the LMDE repositories first and running aptitude update followed by aptitude. Using aptitude, I ripped out much of the LMDE Betsy MATE packages and then installed the stretch MATE packages to remove the conflicts when upgrading to a new major version after the freeze. After that, I added back the LMDE Betsy repositories and added some of the desired Mint packages for a Minty flavor. Alternatively, you could run aptitude safe-upgrade followed by aptitude dist-upgrade. It will not be a smooth process and a lot of packages can and will break though.

*Aptitude is a package manager I use exclusively. It's not very user friendly but for my use case it gets the job done.

User avatar
Pepi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: LMDE 2 to LMDE 3

Postby Pepi » Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:46 am

What really is the advantage to go to stretch?

titetanium
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:26 pm

Re: LMDE 2 to LMDE 3

Postby titetanium » Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:21 am

Not much, unless you want a major headache. The sys-v init system has been changed, in that it no longers prints out whether a service has been started or stopped. Mint's version of MATE is much more polished compared to Stretch. Some kernel dev packages have been removed & marked as obsolete - like kernel-package & kernel-common, binutils-x86_64-gnu for cross-compiling... I managed to keep those anyway. If anything, if you're on Jessie, stick with it for now if you value stability. Might as well as wait for LMDE3 to come out when it's ready as I'm certain Clem & company will work to minimize the bugs so your upgrade will be much smoother compared to what I went thru.
Last edited by titetanium on Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pepi
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 406
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: LMDE 2 to LMDE 3

Postby Pepi » Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:26 am

Don't need anymore headaches LOL. I honesty man not even go to LMDE3. LMDE2 is great on my laptop. I did switch to Cinnamon because MATE 18 screwed my system up. I'm glad I did .. Cinnamon is pretty nice IMHO

axisofevil
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:22 pm

Re: LMDE 2 to LMDE 3

Postby axisofevil » Mon Aug 07, 2017 1:39 pm

Still get an occasional Cinnamon crash in LMDE2 - no definite appropriate cause apparent.
It is restartable without loss, unless Firefox is in the middle of doing a download.

Perhaps a Stretch version might fix this???

At some point a fix for Systemd will be needed - so sooner rather than later would be nice?

User avatar
sdibaja
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:57 pm
Location: Baja California, Mexico

Re: LMDE 2 to LMDE 3

Postby sdibaja » Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:11 pm

Debian 9 Mate non-free is great. Not much tweaking to get all that I want, except Google Earth is not happening yet.
Recommend.

Yes, it is not as easy to install, but not that difficult with the live version.

PS: Mint would do well to use that as a base for LMDE next time
Peter


Return to “Installation & Boot”