Error Installing from loaded iso

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Fedor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:23 am

Re: Error Installing from loaded iso

Postby Fedor » Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:12 pm

austin.texas wrote:Look at your last screenshot. The icon for the installation program is on the Desktop

I see it, this is just a shortcut. But got the point, shortcut is for scripts somewhere, i shall search them.

User avatar
killer de bug
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5310
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:49 pm
Location: Graz, Austria

Re: Error Installing from loaded iso

Postby killer de bug » Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:20 pm

Scripts are loaded in the RAM already. No need to load again the iso.
Look for mintinstall.
Image
If it ain't broke, fix it until it is.

Fedor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:23 am

Re: Error Installing from loaded iso

Postby Fedor » Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:58 pm

At last, i have an advance.
don't know where is exactly the bug. What i have searched, there is a file /etc/live-installer/live-installer.conf where was set live_media_source = /lib/live/mount/medium/live/filesystem.squashfs, but in my system the file for some reason is located in /lib/live/mount/medium/, so i edited it, and the error have gone. However while i typed this message new error has happened Not found filesystem.packages-remove...

Fedor
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 11:23 am

Re: Error Installing from loaded iso

Postby Fedor » Wed Feb 15, 2017 6:23 am

Well, thanks for trying help. Finally I managed to install.

Now we know that Install scripts expect source only in one particular location, which, i think, is not obvious. Furthermore if we installing from iso, it must to be mounted indeed, but in the right place.
mount -o loop ..../lmde.iso /lib/live/mount/medium/


Return to “Installation & Boot”