Notes on converting an MBR hard disk to GPT

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
dg1727
Level 1
Level 1

Notes on converting an MBR hard disk to GPT

Post by dg1727 »

Recently I had to convert a PC's hard drive from MBR to GPT in order to install LMDE 2. Here are some notes on what I did:

I am NOT an expert on this. If my notes here don't quite fix your problem, then probably someone else on this forum can help you better than I can.

The PC had a previous Linux distro which I wanted to dual-boot into after LMDE was installed. (No M----Soft Windows :D )
The motherboard was by MSI, and I don't remember its UEFI firmware having any problems that interfered with this conversion & OS installation.

The reason for converting the disk from MBR to GPT was:
  • The LMDE installer requires a FAT32 EFI partition, which didn't exist on the disk, so I had to add one;
  • The disk already had 3 primary partitions & 1 extended partition, so I couldn't just add another primary partition;
  • If I were going to add the EFI partition & leave the disk as MBR, then I would want to add the EFI partition as a primary partition (my own preference).
  • So I chose to convert the disk to GPT.
Mostly, I followed the procedure by user "Portablejim" in the AskUbuntu question (link @ bottom of this post). After I modified the os-prober script in LMDE's /etc/grub.d/ (https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=855976), the "update-grub" utility in LMDE correctly auto-detected the prior Linux distro for dual-boot. (This was the last thing I got working.) So I didn't ever need the section "Configuring (+ Dual Boot)" in Portablejim's posting.

Also, at first, the LMDE version of GRUB wouldn't boot because it didn't properly handle the Btrfs partitions on that PC. This problem & my solution are documented in https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=854326
I had to use the prior OS's GRUB until I got LMDE's GRUB fixed.