Rhythmbox not recognised by the sound applet [SOLVED]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

LMDE 2 support ends on 1-1-2019
Post Reply
zerocc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:10 pm

Rhythmbox not recognised by the sound applet [SOLVED]

Post by zerocc » Wed Jun 03, 2015 1:23 pm

The sound applet gives no choice to launch Rhythmbox - just VLC, which I have installed. Additionally, the multi-media keys for play/pause, halt, next track and previous track are inactive. The OSD is merely the NO ENTRY symbol signifying that there is no media player for them to act upon.
Last edited by zerocc on Wed Jun 03, 2015 2:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

zerocc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 2:10 pm

Re: Rhythmbox not recognised by the sound applet in Cinnamon

Post by zerocc » Wed Jun 03, 2015 2:34 pm

Okay. A complete reinstallation of Rhythmbox and a restart of Cinnamon seemed to do the trick. Carry on - nothing to see here...

JakubRimal
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 4:42 pm

Re: Rhythmbox not recognised by the sound applet [SOLVED]

Post by JakubRimal » Fri Nov 24, 2017 12:00 pm

I had the same problem but reinstalling didn't work. After few hours I found the problem: you need to have MPRIS D-Bus plugin enabled. That's it. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”