installing PPAs

Archived topics about LMDE 2
Locked
biggocharley
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 5:54 pm

installing PPAs

Post by biggocharley » Thu Jul 02, 2015 11:44 am

I'm running LMDE2 and am trying to install the ppa for grub customiser and I get this:

Code: Select all

charley@lmde2:~$ sudo add-apt-repository ppa:danielrichter2007/grub-customizer
[sudo] password for charley: 
Adding PPAs is not supported
charley@lmde2:~$ 
Is this unique to LMDE2? I've had no problems with Isadora, petra or Qiana.

User avatar
Fred Barclay
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4208
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:12 am
Location: Bumping around in the bush

Re: installing PPAs

Post by Fred Barclay » Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:09 pm

LMDE (both the old one and Betsy) does not support using PPAs.
http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2808 (2nd paragraph under the picture)

It has to do with PPAs being for Ubuntu, not Debian. Since LMDE is based off of Debian (unlike normal Mint, which is Ubuntu-based), it should not use PPAs.
Isadora, Petra, and Quiana are all Ubuntu-based--so are Rebecca and Rafaela; so if you have to use PPAs, you should stick with the Mint 13 or 17.x releases.
Otherwise, enjoy Betsy! She's my favourite release in the Mint family.

Sorry. :(
Image
"Once you can accept the universe as matter expanding into nothing that is something, wearing stripes with plaid comes easy."
- Albert Einstein

biggocharley
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 5:54 pm

Re: installing PPAs

Post by biggocharley » Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:27 pm

Thanks for the quick response. I really like Betsy and the PPA issue is not important enough to dissuade me from it. I currently have four other Mint systems and Windows 7 (which I rarely use) on my machine so i have a lot of flexibility. Juist for curiosities sake, what is to prevent putting grub customiser into it's own apt repository?
Thanks again.

User avatar
Fred Barclay
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4208
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 11:12 am
Location: Bumping around in the bush

Re: installing PPAs

Post by Fred Barclay » Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:32 pm

[quote=biggocharley] Juist for curiosities sake, what is to prevent putting grub customiser into it's own apt repository? [/quote]
No idea.
It does look like compiling from source would be pretty easy. https://answers.launchpad.net/grub-customizer/+faq/1397

Is there something in particular you need it for? I've changed GRUB settings manually before--it's not usually too hard. Of course, I don't know your situation.
Image
"Once you can accept the universe as matter expanding into nothing that is something, wearing stripes with plaid comes easy."
- Albert Einstein

biggocharley
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 5:54 pm

Re: installing PPAs

Post by biggocharley » Thu Jul 02, 2015 2:36 pm

Is there something in particular you need it for? I've changed GRUB settings manually before--it's not usually too hard. Of course, I don't know your situation.
I could change the settings manually--- I have done it before and somewhere in my docs i have the commands needed ==I'll have to dig them out and take a look.
I don't really need the grub customiser all that badly. I have my grub menu set to open LMDE2 as first choice , but it won't boot normally but boots ok in the recovery mode so I would like to set the recovery mode to boot first in line. until I get the bot problem cured. That's another issue which I'm dealing with on another thread <HDMI missconfig after upgrade? >

Locked

Return to “LMDE 2 "Betsy" Archive”