HPLIP toolbox not available in LMDE 2?

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
bryanmc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:43 pm

HPLIP toolbox not available in LMDE 2?

Postby bryanmc » Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:46 am

I recently started running LMDE 2 in a virtual machine. While configuring it, I installed the HPLIP gui and noticed that the hplip toolbox application isn't available through software manager or synaptic. I have Debian 8.6.0 in a virtual machine and the toolbox is available to install and when installed you can access it from the applications menu, the same holds true for my LM18 host machine. Am I missing something? I prefer to only have the hp tools running when I need them as opposed to having to have them as a startup item (which I'm forced to do in LMDE).

Thanks

jdackle
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: HPLIP toolbox not available in LMDE 2?

Postby jdackle » Sat Dec 10, 2016 5:39 pm

I have a few of the HPLIP packages installed in my machine (hplip, hplip-data and hplip-gui).
I do however also have the Debian stable repositories enable in my /etc/apt/sources.list.d/ folder-files. I believe this is the default for an out-of-the-box LMDE but I might be wrong.
I am actually under the impression LMDE intends for the Debian repositories to constitute and integral part of the software sources (having in the linuxmint-packages repos only those packages that have been tailored specifically for LMDE).

Bottomline: Have you edited your software sources, either the files directly or the options on the Software Sources GUI?

bryanmc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:43 pm

Re: HPLIP toolbox not available in LMDE 2?

Postby bryanmc » Mon Dec 12, 2016 8:03 pm

I haven't looked into the repos yet. Probably what I should have done first, but I thought LMDE used the Debian repos.

jdackle
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jul 24, 2013 11:45 pm

Re: HPLIP toolbox not available in LMDE 2?

Postby jdackle » Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:22 am

bryanmc wrote:but I thought LMDE used the Debian repos.
Yes, that's what I thought as well.

Anyway, you can have a look at my /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list bellow:

Code: Select all

deb http://mirrors.fe.up.pt/linuxmint-packages betsy main upstream import

deb ftp://ftp.pt.debian.org/debian/ jessie main contrib non-free
deb ftp://ftp.pt.debian.org/debian/ jessie-updates main contrib non-free
deb http://security.debian.org/ jessie/updates main contrib non-free

deb http://www.deb-multimedia.org jessie main non-free

deb http://extra.linuxmint.com betsy main
(the ".pt" part in there is for Portuguese mirrors; you may want to choose others)

I am pretty sure these packages were all there already, without any editing on my part, though I might have had to uncomment some of the lines.
I actually have a faint recollection of having done just that on the GUI program Software Sources ( /usr/bin/software-sources ), where the repositories were listed already but not enabled


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests