Xsane recognizes webcam as scanner [Solved]

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Bolle1961
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 12:59 pm

Xsane recognizes webcam as scanner [Solved]

Postby Bolle1961 » Wed Feb 01, 2017 9:57 am

When I start xsane I have to make a choice between my webcam and scanner.
Is there a way to start the scanner immediately?
XsaneWebcamScanner.png


LMDE2 MATE x64
Last edited by Bolle1961 on Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

kevinthefixer
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 10:36 pm

Re: Xsane recognizes webcam as scanner

Postby kevinthefixer » Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:13 pm

Yes, there is, I saw it on the main edition forum. It involves editing the Xsane menu item to append the device name, but I cannot recall the exact protocol. Try searching over there for "Canon LIDE scanner" or, if that won't work and you're masochistic enough just plow through all my posts there (there aren't that many as I usually use LMDE2). The OP there simply couldn't get his scanner to work on the main edition, nor could I, but that trick stuck in my mind (or whatever I've been using for one lately).

User avatar
Bolle1961
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 503
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2010 12:59 pm

Re: Xsane recognizes webcam as scanner

Postby Bolle1961 » Thu Feb 02, 2017 9:42 am

Thx, I could not find it on the forum, but you gave me a hint to search for.
With DuckDuckGo I found that I had to comment out the webcam in /etc/sane.d/v4l.conf
So this is it now

Code: Select all

#
# In order to use the v4linux backend you have to give the device
# You can enable multiple lines if
# you really have multible v4l devices.
#
#/dev/bttv0
#/dev/video0
#/dev/video1
#/dev/video2
#/dev/video3

Xsane starts now directly with my scanner, thx for your assistance

kevinthefixer
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 10:36 pm

Re: Xsane recognizes webcam as scanner [Solved]

Postby kevinthefixer » Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:56 am

Completely different from the fix I was thinking of, but there's usually more than one way to skin a cat. I may try that one myself, as I have the same problem you did with my Hauppage TV card, also a v4l device. I wonder if there's an easy way to tell SANE not to use v4l at all?


Return to “Software & Applications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest