Page 1 of 1

How to install plasma 5 on LMDE ...

Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2017 7:31 pm
by vito_spatafore
Howdy folks !

as title says ... how to install PLASMA 5 on LMDE 2 ...

as always TIA !

:P

Re: How to install plasma 5 on LMDE ...

Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2017 2:46 am
by xenopeek
It doesn't appear to be in jessie-backports so it's not going to be easy. It is in Debian testing but probably installing it from there is a can of worms with dependencies. For using Debian testing see viewtopic.php?t=212502. I do not recommend this path unless you're happy to reinstall LMDE 2 if this causes things to break.

KDE appear to be working on Flatpak adoption but it's not it a good state yet. It looks like you can at least install the platform and several common KDE applications for testing: https://community.kde.org/Guidelines_and_HOWTOs/Flatpak. The benefit of Flatpak is that you don't risk breaking anything else. It would just give you the applications though, not Plasma 5 desktop itself.

Other than these two imperfect solutions I think your options are to either compile it from source yourself (takes a lot of time) or wait for LMDE 3 (will take more time than compiling from source, but will be easier). LMDE 3 should be based on Debian 9 and according to the Debian KDE page will have "KDE Frameworks 5.22, Plasma 5.6 and Applications 16.04."

Re: How to install plasma 5 on LMDE ...

Posted: Wed Mar 22, 2017 12:48 pm
by vito_spatafore
Thx !