exaile always chrashs with the start

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
Otto7

exaile always chrashs with the start

Post by Otto7 »

Hello,
I have a Dell D820 with LMDE2 and I like the exaile-Player. But it always crashes with starting it. On the terminal i get the following message:

INFO : Loading Exaile 3.4.0 on Python 2.7.9...
INFO : Loading settings...
INFO : Using de_DE ISO8859-1 locale
INFO : Loading plugins...
INFO : Loading collection...
WARNING : Exception occurred while loading /home/hurgelbira/.local/share/exaile/music.db
WARNING : Exception occurred while loading /home/hurgelbira/.local/share/exaile/music.db
INFO : Loading devices...
INFO : Connected to udisks2
INFO : Loading interface...
Speicherzugriffsfehler

Any idea?
Many thanks for your help! (I'm not very good at Linux as it runs most of the time fine... or I found the the solution on the net)
Otto
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25

Re: exaile always chrashs with the start

Post by xenopeek »

It's giving you a segmentation fault I think ("Speicherzugriffsfehler"). Possibly because of some problem in the file it mentioned. I'd try the following:
  • Make sure Exaile isn't running, also not in some hung background process (reboot or log out and log back in).
  • Rename the .local/share/exaile directory in your home directory to something else, so you can see if that is causing the problem. You can do this in your file manager (toggle to display hidden files from the file manager's View menu) or from the terminal with a command like mv ~/.local/share/exaile ~/.local/share/exaile-old.
  • Start Exaile from the terminal again.
Does it start now? If not, what messages are output now that it will start with an empty .local/share/exaile directory?
Otto7

Post by Otto7 »

Hello xenopeek,