Odd problem with Firefox

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Zweitaktmotor
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:12 pm

Odd problem with Firefox

Post by Zweitaktmotor » Fri Jan 12, 2018 5:58 am

I seem to have an odd, quite annoying problem with Firefox:

If I switch beween tabs and move my mouse too quickly, the tab gets attached to the mouse pointer, as if I still had the mouse button pressed. The only way to release it is to press the Esc key.

It then either ends up as a new Firefox window in the task bar or as a tiny shadow image stuck on screen (see screenshot below, note the little Startpage shadow image in the centre).

I guess this could be some sort of mouse setting, but it only happens in Firefox.

Any idea what the problem might be?

Many thanks.
Attachments
shadow_image.png

User avatar
Flemur
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4993
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Odd problem with Firefox

Post by Flemur » Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:50 am

Zweitaktmotor wrote:Any idea what the problem might be?
Mouse gestures? There nothing in the "Preferences", but "about:config" -> "gesture" shows some stuff....but it I think it's for tablets and such.

I sometimes, not often, get something close to that effect when I hi-light some text and somehow get a picture of it attached to the mouse pointer (it happened when I quoted your sentence) - but I can detach it with a mouse click, don't need Esc.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

Zweitaktmotor
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:12 pm

Re: Odd problem with Firefox

Post by Zweitaktmotor » Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:23 am

Ah, I forgot about the "about:config". Many thanks.

There are a lot of options there and I will have to find out what they are doing.

For now, I disabled "gestures.enable_single_finger_input", which seems to describe the problem vaguely. Let's see if this does the trick.

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”