Input mic not working.

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
uncleguido
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:29 pm

Input mic not working.

Postby uncleguido » Sun Sep 04, 2016 3:34 pm

Can anyone help with this? I cannot figure this out. It works in windows but not in any linux distro.

Computer spec's.....

Code: Select all

guido@lmde ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: lmde Kernel: 3.16.0-4-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 4.8.4)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.0.6 (Gtk 3.14.5+4) Distro: LinuxMint 2 betsy
Machine:   System: EVGA product: Default string v: Default string
           Mobo: EVGA model: 151-HE-E999 v: 1.0
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 2.02 date: 05/27/2016
CPU:       Hexa core Intel Core i7-5820K (-HT-MCP-) cache: 15360 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 45011
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1357 MHz 2: 1229 MHz 3: 1445 MHz 4: 1334 MHz
           5: 1227 MHz 6: 1201 MHz 7: 1205 MHz 8: 1372 MHz 9: 1510 MHz
           10: 1274 MHz 11: 1198 MHz 12: 1216 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA Device 17c8 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.16.4 driver: nvidia
           Resolution: 1920x1200@59.95hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 980 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
           GLX Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 367.44 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA Device 0fb0 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Card-2 Intel Wellsburg HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.16.0-4-amd64
Network:   Card: Intel Ethernet Connection I217-LM
           driver: e1000e v: 2.3.2-k port: f020 bus-ID: 00:19.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (1.8% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST3500418AS size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 454G used: 5.4G (2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda3
           ID-2: /boot size: 1.9G used: 46M (3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 3.15GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda2
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 37.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:43C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 227 Uptime: 3:04 Memory: 747.0/32169.7MB
           Init: SysVinit runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.9.2
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.301) inxi: 2.1.28
guido@lmde ~ $


In sound settings it sees the input mic but can't record anything.

uncleguido
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Input mic not working.

Postby uncleguido » Mon Sep 05, 2016 5:03 pm

BTT

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7291
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: Input mic not working.

Postby jimallyn » Mon Sep 05, 2016 6:28 pm

I am not real familiar with Mint Debian Edition, but: in the "regular" edition, many audio problems have been fixed by installing pavucontrol, the Pulse Audio System volume control. I just fired up Mint Debian in VirtualBox, and I see that many pieces of the Pulse system are installed, and pavucontrol is available for install. So, I would install pavucontrol, then click PulseAudio Volume Control in the Sound & Video menu, then go to the Recording tab. It probably won't show any recording devices until you are actually recording something, so I would start Audacity, then wander through the settings in PulseAudio Volume Control and see if you can get it to record. That work for you?
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

uncleguido
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Input mic not working.

Postby uncleguido » Mon Sep 05, 2016 8:09 pm

jimallyn wrote:I am not real familiar with Mint Debian Edition, but: in the "regular" edition, many audio problems have been fixed by installing pavucontrol, the Pulse Audio System volume control. I just fired up Mint Debian in VirtualBox, and I see that many pieces of the Pulse system are installed, and pavucontrol is available for install. So, I would install pavucontrol, then click PulseAudio Volume Control in the Sound & Video menu, then go to the Recording tab. It probably won't show any recording devices until you are actually recording something, so I would start Audacity, then wander through the settings in PulseAudio Volume Control and see if you can get it to record. That work for you?


I will give this a try. Thanks!

uncleguido
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Input mic not working.

Postby uncleguido » Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:48 pm

So I went out and bought a new usb mic. Hooked it up and I can see the level meter moving in sound settings and pulse audio settings. Checked alsamixer and everything looked good there but I still can't get sound to record in audacity. Am I missing a setting in audacity or something stupid? :shock: :shock: :shock:

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7291
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: Input mic not working.

Postby jimallyn » Tue Sep 06, 2016 9:00 pm

You probably also have to select the microphone in Audacity. And set the recording level in Audacity.
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan


Return to “Hardware Support”