Can't get wireless to work at all.

Questions about networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

LMDE 2 support ends on 1-1-2019
Post Reply
Mintdummy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:49 pm

Can't get wireless to work at all.

Post by Mintdummy » Fri Jan 20, 2017 10:52 pm

I'm pulling my hair out trying to get wifi to work.
Here is my system info.

Code: Select all

System:    Host: mint Kernel: 3.16.0-4-586 i686 (32 bit gcc: 4.8.4)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.2.7 (Gtk 3.14.5+4) dm: mdm Distro: LinuxMint 2 betsy
Machine:   System: Hewlett-Packard product: hp pavilion ze4900 (PM041UA#ABA) v: Rev 1
           Mobo: Quanta model: 3084 v: 41.09 Bios: Hewlett-Packard v: F.10 date: 08/18/2004
           Chassis: Quanta type: 10
CPU:       Single core Intel Celeron M (-UP-) cache: 512 KB
           flags: (sse sse2) bmips: 2797 clocked at 1398 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device bus-ID: 00:02.0 chip-ID: 8086:3582
           Display Server: X.Org 1.16.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1024x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 852GM/855GM x86/MMX/SSE2
           GLX Version: 1.3 Mesa 10.3.2 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller
           driver: snd_intel8x0 ports: 1c00 18c0 bus-ID: 00:1f.5 chip-ID: 8086:24c5
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.16.0-4-586
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller bus-ID: 02:06.0 chip-ID: 14e4:4320
           IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
           Card-2: Realtek RTL-8100/8101L/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
           driver: 8139too v: 0.9.28 port: 3000 bus-ID: 02:00.0 chip-ID: 10ec:8139
           IF: eth0 state: unknown speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 40.0GB (14.4% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MK4032GA size: 40.0GB serial: 26BT1188S
Partition: ID-1: / size: 20G used: 5.4G (29%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 52.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list
           deb http: //packages.linuxmint.com betsy main upstream import
           deb http: //ftp.us.debian.org/debian jessie main contrib non-free
           deb http: //ftp.us.debian.org/debian jessie-updates main contrib non-free
           deb http: //security.debian.org jessie/updates main contrib non-free
           deb http: //www.deb-multimedia.org jessie main non-free
           deb http: //extra.linuxmint.com betsy main
Info:      Processes: 125 Uptime: 13 min Memory: 228.5/1991.4MB
           Init: SysVinit v: 2.88 runlevel: 2 default: 2 Gcc sys: 4.9.2 alt: 4.8
Client: Unknown python2.7 client inxi: 2.1.28
Last edited by JeremyB on Mon Jan 23, 2017 7:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: code tags

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9027
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Can't get wireless to work at all.

Post by richyrich » Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:33 am

Network: Card-1: Broadcom BCM4306
Use this terminal command (with a wired connection to the web), then reboot. :)
sudo apt-get install firmware-b43-installer

Mintdummy
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:49 pm

Re: Can't get wireless to work at all.

Post by Mintdummy » Sat Jan 21, 2017 1:56 am

I did that update. I either don't know how to set it up or there is something wrong with the network manager.

User avatar
richyrich
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9027
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Can't get wireless to work at all.

Post by richyrich » Tue Jan 24, 2017 3:50 pm

This terminal command will show if the wireless drivers have been installed properly. :)
inxi -Nx

JeremyB
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9429
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Can't get wireless to work at all.

Post by JeremyB » Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:30 pm

Moved to the LMDE2 Networking subforum

What is the result in terminal for

Code: Select all

modprobe -c | grep 4320
I actually think the ssb and b43 modules are blacklisted so also post results for

Code: Select all

for i in /etc/modprobe.d/*; do echo $i; cat $i | grep ssb; done

Post Reply

Return to “Networking”