How do I install virtual box on harddrive #2?

Questions about other topics & discussing non-support related topics related to LMDE 2.
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Lewish
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 8:01 pm

How do I install virtual box on harddrive #2?

Postby Lewish » Sat Jan 07, 2017 2:07 pm

OK, I have 3 hard drives:
#1 80 GB installation drive/boot
#2 1.5 TB drive
#3 1.5 TB drive

Drives #2 & #3 are installed as LVM and mount at boot. There is not enough room on the boot drive to install virtualbox with a 100 GB virtual disk.

How do I get VirtualBox to see drive #2 and allow me to install it there?

Thanks to anyone who can show me how to do this. I have tried all the suggestions I can find anywhere on the internet.

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15677
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: How do I install virtual box on harddrive #2?

Postby Cosmo. » Sat Jan 07, 2017 7:19 pm

You cannot define the place, where the application gets installed. But you can define in the global settings of VB, where the virtual machines get installed.

Lewish
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 8:01 pm

Re: How do I install virtual box on harddrive #2?

Postby Lewish » Sat Jan 07, 2017 9:17 pm

Thanks.

Yes, I know the application gets installed in specific places. I am trying to find out how to install the virtual drive on HD #2.

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15677
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: How do I install virtual box on harddrive #2?

Postby Cosmo. » Sun Jan 08, 2017 6:14 am

At the place I told you. Open the preferences from the VB Manager, the questioned setting is on the first page (general).

User avatar
Flemur
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4664
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: How do I install virtual box on harddrive #2?

Postby Flemur » Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:16 am

I couldn't find a place in any VB GUI to *move* (or redefine location) the install data (virtual machine) after creating it, so edited

~/.config/VirtualBox/VirtualBox.xml (src=... portion):

Code: Select all

<MachineRegistry>
      <MachineEntry uuid="{63cc52e8-af97-47bc-b85c-cf3218ad512e}" src="/mnt/DATA/vbox/vmwindows/vmwindows.vbox"/>
</MachineRegistry>

(Yes, it says "do not edit this file...", but no problems)

And

Code: Select all

$ pwd
/mnt/DATA/vbox/vmwindows
/$ ls -l
total 10287148
drwx------ 2 user user        4096 Dec 28 14:35 Logs
drwx------ 2 user user         4096 Dec 28 14:36 Snapshots
-rw------- 1 user user        12986 Dec 28 14:36 vmwindows.vbox
-rw------- 1 user user        12929 Dec 28 14:36 vmwindows.vbox-prev
-rwxrwxrwx 1 user user  10533994496 Dec 28 14:36 vmwindows.vdi
$

Note size of vmwindows.vdi.

Edit:
There is not enough room on the boot drive to install virtualbox with a 100 GB virtual disk.

That's over 10X the size of a Win7 install without data a bunch of data...and you don't need to keep data in the VB install, it can access the rest of your linux system (the parts you specify).

How do I get VirtualBox to see drive #2 and allow me to install it there?

If you can't create it where you want to, create then move it.
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?


Return to “Other Topics & Open Discussion”