Is it the end for LMDE?

Archived topics about LMDE 1 and LMDE 2
axisofevil
Level 4
Level 4

Is it the end for LMDE?

Post by axisofevil »

What is the difference between LMDE2 and Stretch + Cinnamon?
Is there any appreciable functional difference?
I appreciate a certain lack of prettyness and icon themes etc in such a move, but at least I would be able to update my applications.
Also, the Debian installer isn't all that nice.

But, I've been using Debian in the shape of LMDE1 & LMDE2 for several years.

Is there any reason why I shouldn't drop LMDE2 and go for Debian + Cinnamon?
Unfortunately, the LMDE developers seem to be stopping development - a great shame for such an excellent product.

At least I'm planning on building a VM to see what it looks like.
I anticipate a lot of reconfiguration.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
MintBean

Re: Is it the end for LMDE?

Post by MintBean »

Do people really believe these melodramatic whinge threads will expedite the arrival of LMDE3?
axisofevil
Level 4
Level 4

Post by axisofevil »

Not really an answer is it?
chrisuk

Post by chrisuk »

You can configure Debian to look and feel like LMDE2, you just need to download the non-free iso - then add compatible Mint apps (Mintstick, for example) that you want/need. I've no idea how successful you'l be, and you still won't get all the latest packages, because even Debian Unstable doesn't have the latest of everything... no repo does.

If you just want newer packages, try a rolling distro. If you want the very latest and a stable OS... you won't get what you want, as it doesn't exist - you'll need to compromise. (Although you can get pretty close with an Arch-based Distro, or maybe Gentoo).