first time installing LMDE

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
nw53
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 1:24 pm

first time installing LMDE

Post by nw53 » Mon Sep 03, 2018 8:13 pm

I try to do a clean install of LMDE-3 only, (a bear drive no other OS install) I try three times and fail. I can not get the partitions right. LMDE do not gave the option to use the hole drive and then make the partitions for me like LM 19. What am I doing wrong? I install LM 19 back on with no problems.

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5471
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: first time installing LMDE

Post by administrollaattori » Wed Sep 05, 2018 3:49 pm

You need to prepare partitions and mount points using "debian way". An example video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4-AlZuShizE

User avatar
stargazerpjs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2016 12:49 am
Location: Mount Gambier, South Australi
Contact:

Re: first time installing LMDE

Post by stargazerpjs » Thu Sep 06, 2018 9:48 am

Decided to change to LMDE and Had the same problem last night, I used both GParted and Disks multiple times no matter what i did LMDE would not use the partitions , After a nights sleep this what worked for me this morning when i tried again. i installed mint 19 XCFE and let mint 19 do all the clean install and auto setting up partitions, I then installed clean install of LMDE but using the Mint 19 partitions and install went like a dream.
Phil
Mount Gambier, South Australia
My main Workstation Mint LMDE
XFCE Cinnamon and other distros my other two systems
As well as other Mint and Distros like Lite, MX etc on Wife and Kids systems

Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3013
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: first time installing LMDE

Post by Monsta » Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:35 am

Maybe try Calamares installer? It's available in the menu.

cbrace
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:23 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: first time installing LMDE

Post by cbrace » Fri Sep 28, 2018 4:49 pm

Just wondering: what are the mount points that need to be created manually?

mediclaser
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 2:28 pm

Re: first time installing LMDE

Post by mediclaser » Fri Sep 28, 2018 5:45 pm

cbrace wrote:
Fri Sep 28, 2018 4:49 pm
Just wondering: what are the mount points that need to be created manually?
I would think "/" and "swap" should be enough. But when I installed LMDE 3 on my old desktop, I did "/", "swap", and "/home".
Having a Linux operating system is just like driving a car -- you learn something new everyday.

cbrace
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 7:23 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: first time installing LMDE

Post by cbrace » Sat Sep 29, 2018 11:32 am

Thanks for the info. I know the default install puts / and /home on the same partition, but I think it makes a lot of sense to keep /home on its own partition. Makes doing a fresh install of the OS so much easier.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”