How many kernels should I have?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
axisofevil
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:22 pm

How many kernels should I have?

Post by axisofevil » Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:30 pm

I upgraded from LMDE2 -> LMDE3 and both my existing kernels were removed & replaced with a single 4.9.0-8-amd64 kernel.

Since I'd really like to maintain 2+ bootable kernels is there a safe way to install an additional bootable kernel?

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5487
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: How many kernels should I have?

Post by administrollaattori » Wed Sep 12, 2018 2:07 pm

If you have space, no problems with multible Kernels. Only thing can be that when updating, there can be initrd.img creations with every Kernel (which takes time).

axisofevil
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 12:22 pm

Re: How many kernels should I have?

Post by axisofevil » Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:25 am

Both my existing 3.16 kernels were removed on the upgrade and replaced with a 4.9 kernel.
So I've only got one.

Presumably, if I wait an unknown number of months I'll get a new kernel and hopefully it will do this without deleting my existing kernel.
Why did the upgrade go and delete my old kernels though?
I could have done that manually - if I had wanted to - I normally keep the last two kernels (just in case).
[Sorry - I didn't realise I started this thread some time ago]

Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3013
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: How many kernels should I have?

Post by Monsta » Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:39 am

I think they could've been removed if you've followed the "D8. Delete foreign packages" section of the upgrade tutorial.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”