LMDE 3 admin password

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
messmanager
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 10:13 am
Location: Boston, UK
Contact:

LMDE 3 admin password

Post by messmanager » Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:05 am

Using LMDE3 64bit. Will not accept installed password for admin. Now unable to use things like Bleachbit (root) as it will not recognise my password. Suggestions? Tnx.

User avatar
sdibaja
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 665
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:57 pm
Location: Baja California, Mexico

Re: LMDE 3 admin password

Post by sdibaja » Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:50 am

no password was set with the installer. It is a "Mint Thing", I don't understand the logic in it.

User avatar
sdibaja
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 665
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:57 pm
Location: Baja California, Mexico

Re: LMDE 3 admin password

Post by sdibaja » Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:52 am

Image

PS: you do not need to remove users from the sudoer list, but I prefer it.

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5496
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: LMDE 3 admin password

Post by administrollaattori » Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:47 pm

messmanager wrote:
Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:05 am
Now unable to use things like Bleachbit (root) as it will not recognise my password.
It is a bad idea to run BleachBit as root.

User avatar
sdibaja
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 665
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:57 pm
Location: Baja California, Mexico

Re: LMDE 3 admin password

Post by sdibaja » Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:36 pm

administrollaattori wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:47 pm
messmanager wrote:
Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:05 am
Now unable to use things like Bleachbit (root) as it will not recognise my password.
It is a bad idea to run BleachBit as root.
is there a way to run Bleachbit in User mode?

Clem declared "upstream" when this was reported as a LMDE 3 Beta bug and provided no help.
sorry I can't provide a link, the bug reporting system has been deleted

PS: It is not "upstream" as it works fine with Debian, no need for root. It is a LMDE 3 bug.
Or maybe I don't understand the phrase "upstream".
(Debian has root enabled by default)

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5496
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: LMDE 3 admin password

Post by administrollaattori » Fri Oct 05, 2018 1:15 am

sdibaja wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:36 pm
is there a way to run Bleachbit in User mode?
I suppose that is not a BleachBit bug, but it is a mint-menu bug. Just edit the launcher as bleachbit from su-to-root -X -c bleachbit

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”