[Closed] Software rendering with LMDE on external SSD

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Sugarcrisp
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:58 am

[Closed] Software rendering with LMDE on external SSD

Post by Sugarcrisp » Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:23 am

I'm currently testing LMDE 3 out on an external SSD. I'm having an issue with it running in software rendering. I don't seem to have any adjustments available. I've been searching for solutions, but most everything that I'm finding is linked to virtual machines. Any help would be appreciated.

Code: Select all

brett@lmde:~$ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: lmde Kernel: 4.9.0-9-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 6.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.10 
           Distro: LMDE 3 Cindy base: Debian 9.3 stretch 
Machine:   Type: Desktop System: Dell product: Inspiron 3470 v: N/A serial: <filter> 
           Mobo: Dell model: 0D02VH v: A01 serial: <filter> UEFI: Dell v: 1.5.9 date: 10/09/2018 
CPU:       Topology: 6-Core model: Intel Core i5-8400 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Kaby Lake rev: A L2 cache: 9216 KiB 
           flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 33696 
           Speed: 3293 MHz min/max: 800/4000 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3293 2: 913 3: 1623 4: 913 5: 2320 6: 1043 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel vendor: Dell driver: N/A bus ID: 00:02.0 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: fbdev unloaded: modesetting,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~77Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.9 256 bits) v: 3.3 Mesa 13.0.6 direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel vendor: Dell driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1f.3 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.9.0-9-amd64 
Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet vendor: Dell driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI 
           port: 3000 bus ID: 01:00.0 
           IF: enp1s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
           Device-2: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter vendor: Dell driver: ath9k v: kernel 
           port: 3000 bus ID: 02:00.0 
           IF: wlp2s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
           Device-3: Atheros type: USB driver: btusb bus ID: 1-14:6 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 2.11 TiB used: 378.20 GiB (17.5%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Toshiba model: DT01ACA100 size: 931.51 GiB 
           ID-2: /dev/sdb type: USB vendor: A-Data model: HC660 size: 931.51 GiB 
           ID-3: /dev/sdc vendor: SK Hynix model: SC311 SATA 128GB size: 119.24 GiB 
           ID-4: /dev/sdd type: USB vendor: Samsung model: MZNLF128HCHP-00004 size: 119.24 GiB 
           ID-5: /dev/sde type: USB vendor: PNY model: USB 2.0 FD size: 57.70 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 108.70 GiB used: 6.82 GiB (6.3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdd3 
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 7.81 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdd1 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 50.0 C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 2604 
Info:      Processes: 257 Uptime: 1h 00m Memory: 7.63 GiB used: 1.68 GiB (22.0%) Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: 
           gcc: 6.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.12 inxi: 3.0.32 
Last edited by Sugarcrisp on Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Fuzzy
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 179
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 11:54 am

Re: Software rendering with LMDE on external SSD

Post by Fuzzy » Thu Jul 25, 2019 1:06 pm

I know this link isn't specific to LMDE3, and it is a little old...but perhaps it could offer some clues for you to follow?

viewtopic.php?f=208&t=134713&sid=0aacea ... 6&start=40

Fuzzy

Sugarcrisp
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 6:58 am

Re: Software rendering with LMDE on external SSD

Post by Sugarcrisp » Thu Jul 25, 2019 9:56 pm

Hey Fuzzy,

Thanks for the link. I hadn't found any possible solution for many days, so I decided to replace LMDE without fixing the issue.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”