[SOLVED] Moving from LM to LMDE?

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around LMDE as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums within the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
snowcrash101

[SOLVED] Moving from LM to LMDE?

Post by snowcrash101 »

Hi

I've been using LM for a couple of years. While still feel like a newbie, I'm more comfortable with linux overall, and using the command line when needed etc.

I've been thinking of moving to LMDE 4. As I'm more comfortable with the philosphy of debian (rather than its commercial derivative Ubuntu).

Are there any significant disadvantages of LMDE4 - compared with LM - that I should be aware of? (For example, is LMDE as stable as LM? Is the software in repositories as recent or more dated? etc).

Thanks for any advice
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
snowcrash101

Re: Moving from LM to LMDE?

Post by snowcrash101 »

I found this thread, in case anyone else is looking: viewtopic.php?f=251&t=314843&hilit=lmde
Moonstone Man
Level 16
Level 16

Re: Moving from LM to LMDE?

Post by Moonstone Man »

snowcrash101 wrote: Tue Jul 28, 2020 5:59 pm I found this thread, in case anyone else is looking: viewtopic.php?f=251&t=314843&hilit=lmde
It might help others if you document what you took from those four full pages of posts.
Pjotr
Level 24
Level 24

Re: [SOLVED] Moving from LM to LMDE?

Post by Pjotr »

My take: choose easy. Main Mint is the easiest. Heaven for lazy guys like I. :mrgreen: