Losing keyboard

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Ursprog
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 4:01 am

Losing keyboard

Post by Ursprog »

I am very happy running LMDE 4 on my Tuxedo laptop as my daily driver, however there is one problem.

Often when I have to log in again after inactivity the system doesnt react to the keyboard and I have to do a hard reboot to gain access again.
This is really anoying and I hope someone can help.
User avatar
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2773
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: Losing keyboard

Post by antikythera »

What Tuxedo laptop? If it is still under warranty Tuxedo will gladly help you troubleshoot this. Please post the output of the following command when asking for hardware help though and we'll see what we can do here too:

inxi -Fxms
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
Ursprog
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 4:01 am

Re: Losing keyboard

Post by Ursprog »

The command gives this output
Im not sure if I still have warranty

Host: tuxedo Kernel: 4.19.0-10-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc
v: 8.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.6.7 Distro: LMDE 4 Debbie
base: Debian 10.2 buster
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: TUXEDO product: TUXEDO v: N/A serial: <root required>
Mobo: TUXEDO model: N13_N140ZU serial: <root required> UEFI: INSYDE
v: 1.07.04RTR1 date: 02/14/2019
Battery:
ID-1: BAT0 charge: 36.1 Wh condition: 36.1/35.3 Wh (102%)
model: Notebook BAT status: Full
Memory:
RAM: total: 15.38 GiB used: 967.5 MiB (6.1%)
RAM Report:
permissions: Unable to run dmidecode. Root privileges required.
CPU:
Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-8565U bits: 64 type: MT MCP
arch: Kaby Lake rev: B L2 cache: 8192 KiB
flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 31872
Speed: 800 MHz min/max: 400/4600 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 800 2: 800
3: 800 4: 800 5: 801 6: 800 7: 800 8: 800
Graphics:
Device-1: Intel UHD Graphics 620 vendor: CLEVO/KAPOK driver: i915
v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa
resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics (Whiskey Lake 3x8 GT2)
v: 4.5 Mesa 18.3.6 direct render: Yes
Audio:
Device-1: Intel Cannon Point-LP High Definition Audio vendor: CLEVO/KAPOK
driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1f.3
Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.0-10-amd64
Network:
Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet
vendor: CLEVO/KAPOK driver: r8169 v: kernel port: 3000 bus ID: 39:00.1
IF: enp57s0f1 state: down mac: 80:fa:5b:67:7a:40
Device-2: Intel Wireless 8265 / 8275 driver: iwlwifi v: kernel port: 3000
bus ID: 3a:00.0
IF: wlp58s0 state: up mac: 74:70:fd:fb:b8:73
Drives:
Local Storage: total: 1.09 TiB used: 427.61 GiB (38.3%)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: MK1200GEYKF size: 1.09 TiB
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 59.33 GiB used: 10.42 GiB (17.6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda3
ID-2: /home size: 1.01 TiB used: 417.18 GiB (40.4%) fs: ext4
dev: /dev/sda4
Sensors:
System Temperatures: cpu: 46.0 C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A
Info:
Processes: 226 Uptime: 2m Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 8.3.0
Shell: bash v: 5.0.3 inxi: 3.0.32
User avatar
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2773
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: Losing keyboard

Post by antikythera »

Their warranty is two years, so you are probably still covered. Did you update the BIOS at some point or did it come with that version? If it did then you are definitely covered by a warranty still. Seems an odd problem that is most certainly power management related, have you enabled tlp or are you using LMDE4 without it running like I do? I tried tlp but it made next to no difference to runtime on my own laptop.

Given they offer an Ubuntu/debian derived operating system pre-installed themselves, they may be able to give you a linux boot command to improve compatibility with the notebook's power management internals.
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
Ursprog
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2020 4:01 am

Re: Losing keyboard

Post by Ursprog »

I think I updated bios once but Im not sure. No Im not using tlp, I only use for short periods of time without without power connected.

Thank you for the tip about bios, I will look into it.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”