LMDE4 32-bit: Updating kernel and removing obsolete kernels

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
grioghair
Level 1
Level 1

LMDE4 32-bit: Updating kernel and removing obsolete kernels

Post by grioghair »

I just installed LMDE4, it is my first time installing Mint Debian, and it is on a 32 bit machine. So, I am a complete newbie on this system. How do I update the kernel and remove earlier versions. It doesn't seem to work through update manager on this system.

Any help greatly appreciated,

G
Last edited by karlchen on Wed Oct 07, 2020 3:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Title: Made it explain in more details what the intention is
jwiz
Level 3
Level 3

Re: Updating kernel

Post by jwiz »

See here, for instance:
viewtopic.php?f=248&t=331903
vimes666
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Updating kernel

Post by vimes666 »

@jwiz: the link you provide has linux-image-amd64 and linux-headers-amd64 in its solution. That sounds like 64bit. The topicstarter mentioned a 32bit machine..
Shouldnt that be something with i386 in it or so?
If you think the issue is solved, edit your original post and add the word solved to the title.
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9

Re: LMDE4 32-bit: Updating kernel and removing obsolete kernels

Post by antikythera »

grioghair wrote:
Wed Oct 07, 2020 8:49 am
I just installed LMDE4, it is my first time installing Mint Debian, and it is on a 32 bit machine. So, I am a complete newbie on this system. How do I update the kernel and remove earlier versions. It doesn't seem to work through update manager on this system.

G