LMDE 4 and KDE Plasma

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around LMDE as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums within the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Glamtrains

LMDE 4 and KDE Plasma

Post by Glamtrains »

I have installed LMDE4 today, replacing my Mint Cinnamon regular. I then installed KDE Plasma desktop and it looks and works great.

I am new to LMDE and would like to know what to be expecting in terms of stability, update frequency, etc. Anything to be looking out for?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Moonstone Man
Level 16
Level 16

Re: LMDE 4 and KDE Plasma

Post by Moonstone Man »

Glamtrains wrote: Wed Apr 14, 2021 1:05 pm Anything to be looking out for?
Yes. Major issues with your desktop and and a dearth of assistance to fix them.

You have created a Frankenstein. Most people here will not help you fix any issues you encounter as a result of installing KDE, and there are many issues. You are basically on your own. KDE has its own startup processes that integrate deeply in the operating system, and so does Cinnamon so when you start one, you start all of the system processes of the other as well.

If you must have KDE then install a distribution designed and released with KDE.