[SOLVED]Ksnip & speedtest-cli not working

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around LMDE as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums within the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
linux_rules
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 1:51 am

[SOLVED]Ksnip & speedtest-cli not working

Post by linux_rules »

Ksnip was working fine but now it won't launch. I don't know what happened.
This is the error :

Code: Select all

$ ksnip 
ksnip: error while loading shared libraries: libkImageAnnotator.so.0.3.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
I just installed speedtest-cli & that too is not working

Code: Select all

$ speedtest-cli 
Retrieving speedtest.net configuration...
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/speedtest-cli", line 11, in <module>
    load_entry_point('speedtest-cli==2.0.2', 'console_scripts', 'speedtest-cli')()
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/speedtest.py", line 1887, in main
    shell()
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/speedtest.py", line 1783, in shell
    secure=args.secure
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/speedtest.py", line 1027, in __init__
    self.get_config()
  File "/usr/lib/python3/dist-packages/speedtest.py", line 1113, in get_config
    map(int, server_config['ignoreids'].split(','))
ValueError: invalid literal for int() with base 10: ''
I chose LMDE thinking its more stable than Ubuntu but now I think I made a mistake.

Is it possible to fix Ksnip & speedtest-cli ?

Code: Select all

$ inxi -Fxz
System:
  Host: home Kernel: 4.19.0-16-amd64 x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 8.3.0 
  Desktop: Cinnamon 4.8.6 Distro: LMDE 4 Debbie base: Debian 10.2 buster 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: H110M-CS v: Rev X.0x serial: <filter> 
  UEFI: American Megatrends v: 3016 date: 12/27/2016 
CPU:
  Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core i3-6100 bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
  arch: Skylake-S rev: 3 L2 cache: 3072 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 29568 
  Speed: 800 MHz min/max: 800/3700 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 800 2: 800 
  3: 800 4: 800 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel HD Graphics 530 vendor: ASUSTeK driver: i915 v: kernel 
  bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
  resolution: 1366x768~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 530 (Skylake GT2) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 18.3.6 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel Sunrise Point-H HD Audio 
  vendor: ASUSTeK 100 Series/C230 Series Family driver: snd_hda_intel 
  v: kernel bus ID: 00:1f.3 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.0-16-amd64 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: ASUSTeK driver: r8169 v: kernel port: e000 bus ID: 02:00.0 
  IF: enp2s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Realtek RTL8188EUS 802.11n Wireless Network Adapter type: USB 
  driver: r8188eu bus ID: 1-3:2 
  IF: wlxd03745d2b1aa state: up mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 260.84 GiB used: 81.32 GiB (31.2%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Seagate model: ST3160215AS size: 149.05 GiB 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Samsung model: SSD 750 EVO 120GB size: 111.79 GiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 109.04 GiB used: 17.27 GiB (15.8%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb2 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 29.8 C mobo: 27.8 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 0 
Info:
  Processes: 206 Uptime: 12h 15m Memory: 3.72 GiB used: 1.83 GiB (49.0%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 8.3.0 Shell: bash v: 5.0.3 
  inxi: 3.0.32 
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 5 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
User avatar
spamegg
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5089
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2019 2:34 am
Contact:

Re: Ksnip & speedtest-cli not working

Post by spamegg »

The repo version of speedtest-cli is broken. Go here and follow the instructions:
https://www.speedtest.net/apps/cli

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install gnupg1 apt-transport-https dirmngr
export INSTALL_KEY=379CE192D401AB61
sudo apt-key adv --keyserver keyserver.ubuntu.com --recv-keys $INSTALL_KEY
echo "deb https://ookla.bintray.com/debian generic main" | sudo tee  /etc/apt/sources.list.d/speedtest.list
sudo apt-get update
# Other non-official binaries will conflict with Speedtest CLI
# Example how to remove using apt-get
# sudo apt-get remove speedtest-cli
sudo apt-get install speedtest
For ksnip, you can try the AppImage: https://github.com/ksnip/ksnip/releases ... 4.AppImage
This should have all its dependencies included in it.
linux_rules
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 1:51 am

Re: Ksnip & speedtest-cli not working

Post by linux_rules »

@spamegg

Just downloaded the Ksnip appimage & its working.
Don't want to add any 3rd party sources for security reasons so I have avoided the speedtest-cli repo. I will just use the web interface.

Thanks.
ajgringo619

Re: [Ksnip=SOLVED] [speedtest-cli=still broken] Ksnip & speedtest-cli not workin

Post by ajgringo619 »

For speedtest-cli, remove the repo version and do this:

Code: Select all

pip install --user speedtest-cli
This will install speedtest-cli in $HOME/.local/bin. If you want to install it for everyone, try this:

Code: Select all

sudo pip install speedtest-cli
linux_rules
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 1:51 am

Re: [Ksnip=SOLVED] [speedtest-cli=still broken] Ksnip & speedtest-cli not workin

Post by linux_rules »

ajgringo619 wrote: Sat Apr 17, 2021 11:58 pm For speedtest-cli, remove the repo version and do this:

Code: Select all

pip install --user speedtest-cli
This will install speedtest-cli in $HOME/.local/bin. If you want to install it for everyone, try this:

Code: Select all

sudo pip install speedtest-cli
Please don't take this in a wrong way. Is that method safe in terms of security ? I am paranoid about security.
ajgringo619

Re: [Ksnip=SOLVED] [speedtest-cli=still broken] Ksnip & speedtest-cli not workin

Post by ajgringo619 »

linux_rules wrote: Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:22 am
ajgringo619 wrote: Sat Apr 17, 2021 11:58 pm For speedtest-cli, remove the repo version and do this:

Code: Select all

pip install --user speedtest-cli
This will install speedtest-cli in $HOME/.local/bin. If you want to install it for everyone, try this:

Code: Select all

sudo pip install speedtest-cli
Please don't take this in a wrong way. Is that method safe in terms of security ? I am paranoid about security.
Yes. Check out the dev's Github page - https://github.com/sivel/speedtest-cli - it's mentioned as the first install option.
linux_rules
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 1:51 am

Re: [Ksnip=SOLVED] [speedtest-cli=still broken] Ksnip & speedtest-cli not workin

Post by linux_rules »

Code: Select all

$ pip install speedtest-cli
Collecting speedtest-cli
  Downloading https://files.pythonhosted.org/packages/9f/39/65259b7054368b370d3183762484fa2c779ddc41633894d895f9d1720f45/speedtest_cli-2.1.3-py2.py3-none-any.whl
Installing collected packages: speedtest-cli
  The scripts speedtest and speedtest-cli are installed in '/home/lmde/.local/bin' which is not on PATH.
  Consider adding this directory to PATH or, if you prefer to suppress this warning, use --no-warn-script-location.
Successfully installed speedtest-cli-2.1.3

Code: Select all

$ speedtest-cli

Command 'speedtest-cli' not found, but can be installed with:

sudo apt install speedtest-cli

What's going wrong ?
ajgringo619

Re: [Ksnip=SOLVED] [speedtest-cli=still broken] Ksnip & speedtest-cli not workin

Post by ajgringo619 »

Without using sudo (which is the preferred method), the binary got installed in $HOME/.local/bin, which is probably not in your $PATH. Logout, then back on - the $HOME/.local/bin directory should be automatically added to the $PATH.

For now, to test, run this from the terminal:

Code: Select all

$HOME/.local/bin/speedtest-cli
linux_rules
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 1:51 am

Re: [Ksnip=SOLVED] [speedtest-cli=still broken] Ksnip & speedtest-cli not workin

Post by linux_rules »

ajgringo619 wrote: Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:33 am Without using sudo (which is the preferred method), the binary got installed in $HOME/.local/bin, which is probably not in your $PATH. Logout, then back on - the $HOME/.local/bin directory should be automatically added to the $PATH.

For now, to test, run this from the terminal:

Code: Select all

$HOME/.local/bin/speedtest-cli
It worked. Thanks.
Locked

Return to “Beginner Questions”