Clean pc with installing LMDE 5 over current Debian 11.3

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around LMDE as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums within the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
rickv
Level 1
Level 1

Clean pc with installing LMDE 5 over current Debian 11.3

Post by rickv »

Hey guys,

as a short intro, I'm completely new in Linux and don't have any computer/programming skill. Have been using Windows the last decennium - very rarely using the command promp - and after reading about windows privacy issues, I would like to switch to Linux' LMDE5

Debian 11.3 Bullseye is currently installed on the pc, and would like to have a completely fresh computer by installing the LMDE5.

My question is:

could I just install LMDE5, from an USB, on the computer? Will it completely override/erase everything what was already on?

Is there any particular stuff to do; would you happen to give any advice on how to do this?

********** some old post from 2010 said - since it's superold and I didn't really understand this answer, still a mention of it **********

Re: Overwrite existing Linux OS.
Post by Aging Technogeek » Tue Oct 19, 2010 3:02 pm

You do not need to delete an older Linux installation before installing Mint unless you want to change the partitioning scheme. If you do not want to change the partition sizes, just click on each existing partition you want to reuse, click "Change" and, in the "Edit" window, set the file system type you want (ext3, ext4, xfs, etc.), format the partition and set the mount point (/, /home/etc). Do not change the partition size.