[SOLVED] Invalid Partition Table! (again)

Questions about Grub, the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
_DeF_
Level 1
Level 1

[SOLVED] Invalid Partition Table! (again)

Post by _DeF_ »

Hi everyone,

I am a linux newbie, so please forgive me if I just haven't managed to come across the correct information yet (or recognise it if I had come across it).

I recently installed lmde 4 from a USB stick from BIOS (I wiped the ssd, selected the LVM option, installed the grub on /dev/sda), and am now getting the Invalid Partition Table! error every time I boot up. Pressing enter then bypasses the error message and everything seems to work as normal from then on.

I have read the other forum posts regarding this topic, but they aren't entirely relevant to me in that the poster was using different hardware, or was dual booting their system. I am using an old reconditioned Dell latitude E6430s, with a replacement Samsung ssd.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. As I am not yet confident enough to try something that I am not sure will actually fix the problem, and potentially just make things worse!

Thanks in advance for any help.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
JerryF
Level 16
Level 16

Re: Invalid Partition Table! (again)

Post by JerryF »

Try installing LMDE 4 without the LVM option. Let us know what happens.
AndyMH
Level 21
Level 21

Post by AndyMH »

I wiped the ssd
How did you do that? If you just deleted the existing partitions, okay. If you wiped it, you will need to put a partition table on it.
Thinkcentre M720Q - LM21.3 cinnamon, 4 x T430 - LM21.3 cinnamon, Homebrew desktop i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0
_DeF_
Level 1
Level 1

Post by _DeF_ »

Hi Jerry,