I tried to compile source install but it failed. help.

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
webstuff

I tried to compile source install but it failed. help.

Post by webstuff »

I downloaded the source code but typical install procedure didn't work .. maybe because i'm running the live cd? I'm using LMDE3

I would prefer a lesson on how to compile the source I'm a newbie here. I don't want to use the FlatPak because Handbrake is very cpu intensive and I need to squeeze everything out of the cpu.

Question#1: On the machine where I have LMDE 3 installed, I downloaded (from the Handbrake website) and decompressed the source files and thought I would do the usual to compile:
sudo ./configure
cd ./build
sudo make
sudo make install

However, I got this from sudo ./configure:
probe: host tuple...(pass) x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
compute: available architectures...(pass) x86_64
find: ar...(pass) /usr/bin/ar
find: cp...(pass) /bin/cp
find: gcc...(pass) /usr/bin/gcc
find: gmake...(pass) /usr/bin/make
find: gm4...(pass) /usr/bin/m4
find: mkdir...(pass) /bin/mkdir
find: gpatch...(pass) /usr/bin/patch
find: rm...(pass) /bin/rm
find: ranlib...(pass) /usr/bin/ranlib
find: strip...(pass) /usr/bin/strip
find: gtar...(pass) /bin/tar
find: nasm...(fail) not found
find: autoconf...(pass) /usr/bin/autoconf
find: automake...(pass) /usr/bin/automake
find: cmake...(fail) not found
: name[0] = cmake
ERROR: unable to continue; configure stop.

So I did sudo apt-get install cmake and typed sudo ./configure again and anything that I see missing, I do apt-get.
However, right now, even though I have libtool and did use apt-get on libtool and is installed, ./configure still give me the erro that it's not found, unable to continue.

Help. I don't understand why doesn't Handbrake provide command where people would type it and out come the app.