[SOLVED] Issues installing Joplin

Questions about applications and software
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
feganegg
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 1:58 pm

[SOLVED] Issues installing Joplin

Post by feganegg »

I've tried installing Joplin using the website instructions and it seems to work fine but the menu icon will not start the program. I've followed some other threads and can't seem to fix it. when i try and run it from .joplin i get this message

Code: Select all

[8692:0508/185504.676634:FATAL:setuid_sandbox_host.cc(157)] The SUID sandbox helper binary was found, but is not configured correctly. Rather than run without sandboxing I'm aborting now. You need to make sure that /tmp/.mount_JoplinwaJPmj/chrome-sandbox is owned by root and has mode 4755.
Trace/breakpoint trap (core dumped)
I try looking for that file and it doesn't seem to exist.

I'm still finding my way with linux and I'm guessing this is a great opportunity to learn. I'm curretnly running LMDE fairly freshly installed.
Last edited by feganegg on Fri Jul 03, 2020 3:28 am, edited 2 times in total.

feganegg
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 1:58 pm

Re: Issues installing Joplin

Post by feganegg »

I'm still struging with this. Latest update is that they program seems to be installed. Then menu item wasn't linked but when i go to reinstall it states i have the latest version and I can see the appimage in ~/.joplin/ But i can not get the program to start. The appimage is executable

I'm guessing at this stage it something simple as it all seems to be there but it just won't fire up.

feganegg
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri May 08, 2020 1:58 pm

Re: Issues installing Joplin

Post by feganegg »

Just got this solved at the joplin forum. You just need to edit the menu item by right clicking menu > configure > open menu editor

then change append

Code: Select all

--no-sandbox 
to the joplin menu item properties

My command became

/home/Damien/.joplin/Joplin.AppImage --no-sandbox

Monsta
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3055
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2011 3:46 am

Re: Issues installing Joplin

Post by Monsta »

Looks similar to what's described in viewtopic.php?p=1797728#p1797728...

Post Reply

Return to “Software & Applications”