RYZEN level 3

Questions about hardware and drivers
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
mike acker
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1514
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

RYZEN level 3

Post by mike acker »

Does LMDE/4 support RYZEN 3000 series CPUs ?

The one I would like to use for this next build is:

Code: Select all

AMD RYZEN 3 3200G 4-Core 3.6 GHz (4.0 GHz Max Boost) Socket AM4 65W YD3200C5FHBOX Desktop Processor
this is an intro level system; I'd like to use integrated graphics rather than install a graphics card

the MoBo under consideration is

Code: Select all

ASUS TUF B450-PLUS GAMING AM4 AMD B450 SATA 6Gb/s ATX AMD Motherboard
it's always easy to buy the latest hardware but in this case I'm worried that LMDE/4 may not be quite ready yet

thoughts -- anyone ?
¡Viva la Resistencia!
HaveaMint
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:56 pm
Location: Somewhere in the USA
Contact:

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by HaveaMint »

I'm running the 5.4 series kernel in XFCE and it's running well. I don't know which kernel is in LMDE.

Code: Select all

System:    Host: main-pc Kernel: 5.4.0-54-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0 Desktop: Xfce 4.14.2 
           Distro: Linux Mint 20 Ulyana base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: ASRock model: B450M-IBW serial: <superuser/root required> UEFI: American Megatrends 
           v: P1.70 date: 12/17/2019 
CPU:       Topology: 8-Core model: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen L2 cache: 4096 KiB 
           flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm bogomips: 114985 
           Speed: 2201 MHz min/max: 2200/3600 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2197 2: 2196 3: 2188 4: 2189 5: 2195 6: 2195 
           7: 2195 8: 2192 9: 2196 10: 2196 11: 2194 12: 2195 13: 2195 14: 2196 15: 2194 16: 2188 
Graphics:  Device-1: NVIDIA TU106 [GeForce RTX 2070] vendor: Micro-Star MSI driver: nvidia v: 450.80.02 
           bus ID: 06:00.0 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: nvidia unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,nouveau,vesa 
           resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce RTX 2070/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 450.80.02 direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: NVIDIA TU106 High Definition Audio vendor: Micro-Star MSI driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
           bus ID: 06:00.1 
           Device-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Starship/Matisse HD Audio vendor: ASRock driver: snd_hda_intel 
           v: kernel bus ID: 08:00.4 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-54-generic 
Network:   Device-1: Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168NGW [Stone Peak] driver: iwlwifi v: kernel bus ID: 03:00.0 
           IF: wlp3s0 state: down mac: 98:af:65:ff:87:a0 
           Device-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet vendor: ASRock driver: r8169 v: kernel 
           port: f000 bus ID: 04:00.0 
           IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: a8:a1:59:0e:51:41 
 
"Tune for maximum Smoke and then read the Instructions".
User avatar
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2668
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by antikythera »

4.19 is the default for LMDE4, you can install newer ones after install if the live ISO will boot okay to install LMDE4 in the first place.
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
mike acker
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1514
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by mike acker »

thanks

this particular build is for an old Army Buddy. The idea is to build a plain basic box where the primary applications will be web browsing and e/mail

The box he has now is the first Linux box I built, back in 2012. It has been adequate until recently: now there is trouble with the power-up sequence: pressing the start switch, he says is "iffy": requires multiple tries to get it to POST. The shutdown ( holding in the power switch ) he says -- works OK. So, it's likely not the switch, but, I'm thinking, probably something going bad on the MoBo
yuk

as we all know, when we go shopping for parts -- the latest|greatest -- are easy to get while getting older spec stuff -- kinda dicey

As this is to be a very basic build I'd like to use a RYZEN3 cpu and MoBo...... but I'm afraid kernel 4.19 may predate the RYZEN 3000 series-- so running a 4.19 kernel on a RYZEN 3000 series might be kinda dicey.

another point of interest in this though: from the specs listed at NewEgg the RYZEN3 CPU I have spec for this includes RADEON graphics and as such is supported as RYZEN 2000 series -- so that might make a difference. I don't really want to put a graphic card in this box as it is supposed to be a basic/intro build.
¡Viva la Resistencia!
User avatar
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2668
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by antikythera »

Since Mint 20 is a long term support edition and is supported until 2025 I would seriously consider that instead of LMDE4 for this army buddy. The applications are newer as well as the kernel and if he needs support with it, there are more users running Ubuntu Focal and Mint 20. You don't need a separate GPU, the on chip graphics component of the 3200G is supported by the amdgpu driver.
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
mike acker
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1514
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by mike acker »

antikythera wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 8:31 am
Since Mint 20 is a long term support edition and is supported until 2025 I would seriously consider that instead of LMDE4 for this army buddy. The applications are newer as well as the kernel and if he needs support with it, there are more users running Ubuntu Focal and Mint 20. You don't need a separate GPU, the on chip graphics component of the 3200G is supported by the amdgpu driver.
Thanks!! I'm still reviewing the parts list for this build. The specs for the 3200G state RADEON graphics included -- and also that it is 2000 level in this configuration. the motherboard looks like a good choice as well: I have several machines running on these ROG boards

Code: Select all

ASUS ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING AM4 AMD B450 SATA 6Gb/s ATX AMD Motherboard
Right now I'm thinking I'll proceed with the order and attempt to load it with LMDE/4. Remember MINT20 is a Ubuntu derivative; LMDE4 is a straight Debian derivative. This particular army buddy isn't going to do anything other than turn it on and run the browser and eMail; he'll prefer "same as yesterday" to the "latest & greatest". He's a real tin-hat guy and wants the VPN enabled. I notice the LMDE/4 that I have running on the ResearchBox has FreeVPN installed automatically. I'll get him started with that instead of loading ExpressVPN.

If I have trouble running LMDE/4 on this build then I'll try the MINT20.
¡Viva la Resistencia!
User avatar
cpedretti
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 12:06 am

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by cpedretti »

mike acker wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 9:22 am
antikythera wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 8:31 am
Since Mint 20 is a long term support edition and is supported until 2025 I would seriously consider that instead of LMDE4 for this army buddy. The applications are newer as well as the kernel and if he needs support with it, there are more users running Ubuntu Focal and Mint 20. You don't need a separate GPU, the on chip graphics component of the 3200G is supported by the amdgpu driver.
Thanks!! I'm still reviewing the parts list for this build. The specs for the 3200G state RADEON graphics included -- and also that it is 2000 level in this configuration. the motherboard looks like a good choice as well: I have several machines running on these ROG boards

Code: Select all

ASUS ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING AM4 AMD B450 SATA 6Gb/s ATX AMD Motherboard
Right now I'm thinking I'll proceed with the order and attempt to load it with LMDE/4. Remember MINT20 is a Ubuntu derivative; LMDE4 is a straight Debian derivative. This particular army buddy isn't going to do anything other than turn it on and run the browser and eMail; he'll prefer "same as yesterday" to the "latest & greatest". He's a real tin-hat guy and wants the VPN enabled. I notice the LMDE/4 that I have running on the ResearchBox has FreeVPN installed automatically. I'll get him started with that instead of loading ExpressVPN.

If I have trouble running LMDE/4 on this build then I'll try the MINT20.
Hi for better support of your recent hardware, you will just need the latest kernel and AMD Drivers to working well with LMDE4.

Just follow this tutorial choosing the latest backported stable kernel on date:

=> viewtopic.php?p=1846039#p1846039

Hope this can be helpfull.
AMD Ryzen 2600 - 16GB DDR4 - Sapphyre RX570 8GB - SSD MLC HyperX/HDD Toshiba - Mobo Gygabyte AB350 Gaming - PSU Lepa MaxBron 500W - Case Zalman X3 White

LMDE4 Kernel 4.19
mike acker
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1514
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by mike acker »

cpedretti wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 11:16 am
<snip>

Hi for better support of your recent hardware, you will just need the latest kernel and AMD Drivers to working well with LMDE4.

Just follow this tutorial choosing the latest backported stable kernel on date:

=> viewtopic.php?p=1846039#p1846039

Hope this can be helpfull.
Thanks!! : It may well turn out to save the project !!

Hopefully I've double checked the specs on all this stuff,-- 7 items, actually, counting the case, power supply, motherboard, CPU, DDR4 memory chips, DVD drive and WiFi card. The hard drive I already have

This will be an interesting build: it's my first with 3000 series RYZEN CPU. In this build, I'm using integrated graphics: the RADEON graphics are included in the CPU. The tech. data states these CPUs are supported as RYZEN 2000 level. That being the case I suspect LMDE4 will work just fine. We'll see. Parts are expected 11/30.
¡Viva la Resistencia!
User avatar
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2668
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by antikythera »

The 3200G is indeed the same Zen+ 12nm core as the Ryzen 3 2300X but locked and with an added Vega 8 GPU.
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
mike acker
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1514
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by mike acker »

antikythera wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 1:11 pm
The 3200G is indeed the same Zen+ 12nm core as the Ryzen 3 2300X but locked and with an added Vega 8 GPU.
thanks
I'm thinking it's gonna work just fine. we'll see: Parts should be here 30Nov. It shouldn't take me more than an hour to put it together.
¡Viva la Resistencia!
User avatar
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2668
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by antikythera »

I'll be watching this thread with interest. I may build a vesa mount ITX with either a 3200G or 3400G soon, either that or get a PineBook Pro to replace my knackered laptop and delve into the world of ARM a bit more.

EDIT - PineBook and PineBook Pro are sold out with no word of any more stock on the website. It still says new batch in August 2020 so I can't see that changing any time soon, none on ebay either.
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
mike acker
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1514
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by mike acker »

antikythera wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 6:12 pm
I'll be watching this thread with interest.<snip>
cool

I did a laptop for my daughter,-- she insists on Linux now;
it's a top-shelf Dell SSD base machine; RYZEN3 cpu, ...

I could not get it to run MINT; I had to load Manjaro on it. But: she's happy with it: it runs the programs she needs to use; has a nice desktop -- what's not to like?

I'll update this thread once I get the new box together so I can work with the software.
¡Viva la Resistencia!
mike acker
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1514
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: RYZEN level 3 update

Post by mike acker »

Good News: new machine does run.

Bad News: with LMDE/4 it displays a whole mess of errors on start-up and then, after the customer logs on, it issues a warning stating hardware acceleration for graphics is not available. seems to run OK, though. There is no graphics card installed; it's using the integrated RADEON graphics and outputting through the native Motherboard Display Port. Remember this is supposed to be a Computer 101 beginner box.

I'm thinking I'll download the Mint/Main Edition V20
hints here indicate I may have better support that way.

we'll see.

Update 20:25 EST
I have MINT20 installed on the new machine now. no error on the hardware accelerator :)

here's the scoop

Code: Select all

To run a command as administrator (user "root"), use "sudo <command>".
See "man sudo_root" for details.

greg@greg2:~$ inxi -F
System:    Host: greg2 Kernel: 5.4.0-26-generic x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.6.6 
           Distro: Linux Mint 20 Ulyana 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING v: Rev 1.xx 
           serial: <superuser/root required> UEFI: American Megatrends v: 3103 date: 06/17/2020 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Ryzen 3 3200G with Radeon Vega Graphics bits: 64 type: MCP 
           L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
           Speed: 1257 MHz min/max: 1400/3600 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1252 2: 1503 3: 1252 4: 2294 
Graphics:  Device-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Picasso driver: amdgpu v: kernel 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.8 driver: amdgpu,ati unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa 
           resolution: 2560x1440~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD RAVEN (DRM 3.35.0 5.4.0-26-generic LLVM 9.0.1) v: 4.6 Mesa 20.0.4 
Audio:     Device-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Raven/Raven2/Fenghuang HDMI/DP Audio driver: snd_hda_intel 
           Device-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 17h HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-26-generic 
Network:   Device-1: Intel I211 Gigabit Network driver: igb 
           IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: 24:4b:fe:e1:77:70 
           Device-2: Realtek RTL8821AE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter driver: rtl8821ae 
           IF: wlp7s0 state: up mac: 00:1a:ef:5c:42:71 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 931.51 GiB used: 6.80 GiB (0.7%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD1003FZEX-00MK2A0 size: 931.51 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 33.39 GiB used: 6.66 GiB (19.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
           ID-2: /home size: 859.09 GiB used: 139.4 MiB (0.0%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda4 
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 23.44 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 36.8 C mobo: N/A gpu: amdgpu temp: 36 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:      Processes: 228 Uptime: 1m Memory: 13.65 GiB used: 816.7 MiB (5.8%) Shell: bash inxi: 3.0.38 
greg@greg2:~$ 
Note: the memory installed is 2x8G. This shows 13G because 3G assigned to video is not reported. lshw shows 2 8G sticks.
¡Viva la Resistencia!
johnwillden
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 7:19 am
Location: Canada East Coast

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by johnwillden »

mike acker wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 8:24 am
It has been adequate until recently: now there is trouble with the power-up sequence: pressing the start switch, he says is "iffy": requires multiple tries to get it to POST. The shutdown ( holding in the power switch ) he says -- works OK. So, it's likely not the switch, but, I'm thinking, probably something going bad on the MoBo
yuk
I had these exact same symptoms that degraded and started to smell hot.

It turns out a toroidal transformer in the power supply was overheating an shorting.
New power supply and the machine sparks up like a champ!

Now to find some wire to rewind the transformer ... of course a new build is more fun.
mike acker
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1514
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by mike acker »

johnwillden wrote:
Fri Nov 27, 2020 10:45 pm
mike acker wrote:
Sun Nov 22, 2020 8:24 am
It has been adequate until recently: now there is trouble with the power-up sequence: pressing the start switch, he says is "iffy": requires multiple tries to get it to POST. The shutdown ( holding in the power switch ) he says -- works OK. So, it's likely not the switch, but, I'm thinking, probably something going bad on the MoBo
yuk
I had these exact same symptoms that degraded and started to smell hot.

It turns out a toroidal transformer in the power supply was overheating an shorting.
New power supply and the machine sparks up like a champ!

Now to find some wire to rewind the transformer ... of course a new build is more fun.
I'll be getting the failed machine in exchange; my intent is to scrap it. The disc is probably OK; I plan to install it in his new case when he does the switch-over. That way he can mount it and recover any data as he may need. The power supply is ANTEC/650 -- a good one. When I did the install for this guy I included a power surge strip. This he returned to me as "not needed". He's also a welder... me thinks I better talk to this guy again.

I usually recommend APC UPS units with about a 10 minute capacity -- enough for an orderly shutdown.

I won't know much more until I get the failed box back.

as far as a new build being fun,..... well: yes, but with some caveats: the configuration of these machines is always changing, and, obsolete parts can be hard to get. The new MoBo has only two (2) USB(2) ports: for the keybd and mouse; the others are USB3-2 and a couple of others (?) USB-C, Ext-SATA -- I forget what all.

the USB ports on the front panel are now USB3. it's unclear if running USB 2 devices on a USB 3 bus slows the bus down. maybe I can find a way to test this.

The graphics ports are now: HDMI-2 or Display Port, no DVI, no VGA. So, it's like the song says,..... "If you don't mind the thorns... "
¡Viva la Resistencia!
User avatar
antikythera
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2668
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2020 12:52 pm

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by antikythera »

mike acker wrote:
Sat Nov 28, 2020 8:01 am


the USB ports on the front panel are now USB3. it's unclear if running USB 2 devices on a USB 3 bus slows the bus down. maybe I can find a way to test this.

It won't do, don't worry about that.
Don't take life so seriously, nobody gets out alive anyway!
AMSTRAD CPC6128 - 128KB RAM, 3" Hitachi Floppy Diskette Drive, External Sony Cassette Recorder, Locomotive BASIC 1.1, CTM-644 Monitor
mike acker
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1514
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 6:29 pm
Location: Kalamazoo, MI

Re: RYZEN level 3

Post by mike acker »

antikythera wrote:
Sat Nov 28, 2020 8:25 am
mike acker wrote:
Sat Nov 28, 2020 8:01 am


the USB ports on the front panel are now USB3. it's unclear if running USB 2 devices on a USB 3 bus slows the bus down. maybe I can find a way to test this.

It won't do, don't worry about that.
looks like you're right: I looked up info on the USB 3 pin-out. if what i found is right the USB3 port has separate pins for the USB2 and additional separate pairs for "super speed" tx and rx.
¡Viva la Resistencia!
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”