Page 1 of 1

FreeRDP session looses mouse

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 11:09 am
by jwiz
I am running a Windows RDP (freerdp2) session on the second (virtual) workspace and after working some time on the first workspace, the RDP session on the other workspace consistently 'looses' the mouse, i.e. I can only interact with the session window itself (move, resize) and not with its content.
That has never happened with 19.3 so far.
Any ideas?

Re: FreeRDP session looses mouse

Posted: Fri Jul 03, 2020 5:30 am
by jwiz
Further looking into this odd behaviour it appears to be that the FreeRDP session seems to timeout at all after a certain period of inactivity, that's why it won't accept any mouse input.
I'm judging this from the new Outlook emails that appear in the inbox after I restart the FreeRDP session (running xfreerdp2 in a terminal window) after it has timed out.
Is this timeout behaviour reported/documented anywhere?

Re: FreeRDP session looses mouse

Posted: Mon Jul 06, 2020 7:07 am
by jwiz
jwiz wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 5:30 am
Further looking into this odd behaviour it appears to be that the FreeRDP session seems to timeout at all after a certain period of inactivity, that's why it won't accept any mouse input.
I'm judging this from the new Outlook emails that appear in the inbox after I restart the FreeRDP session (running xfreerdp2 in a terminal window) after it has timed out.
Is this timeout behaviour reported/documented anywhere?
I'm just stupid (sometimes).
I was ssh tunneling and simply forgot to ufw allow any incoming traffic for ssh port I was tunneling thru, so the session kept dying.
That's what you get when setting up a new system, you always miss the obvious ones.

Re: [SOLVED] FreeRDP session looses mouse

Posted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:10 am
by Lanser
Don't worry, we all do dumb things... upside is that you worked out what the problem was and you fixed it !
Thanks for letting us know what happened.
Lanser

Re: FreeRDP session looses mouse

Posted: Wed Jul 08, 2020 5:30 am
by jwiz
Damn, too early.
It wasn't the firewall. I'm still loosing the RDP session not matter if the firewall is punctuated or not.
Been looking into syslog in the hope I might find some clues there and noticed that around the time when the session failed (I cannot be precise about the time) the packagekit daemon started.
I wonder if that might have been interfering?

Jul 8 10:23:57 minibox42 wpa_supplicant[726]: wlp2s0: WPA: Group rekeying completed with 58:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx [GTK=CCMP]
Jul 8 10:24:17 minibox42 dbus-daemon[723]: [system] Activating via systemd: service name='org.freedesktop.PackageKit' unit='packagekit.service' requested by ':1.221' (uid=0 pid=3745 comm="/usr/bin/gdbus call --system --dest org.freedeskto")
Jul 8 10:24:17 minibox42 systemd[1]: Starting PackageKit Daemon...
Jul 8 10:24:17 minibox42 PackageKit: daemon start
Jul 8 10:24:17 minibox42 dbus-daemon[723]: [system] Successfully activated service 'org.freedesktop.PackageKit'
Jul 8 10:24:17 minibox42 systemd[1]: Started PackageKit Daemon.
Jul 8 10:24:23 minibox42 kernel: [ 8357.857183] [UFW BLOCK] IN=wlp2s0 OUT= MAC=01:00:5e:00:00:01:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:00 SRC=192.168.1.1 DST=224.0.0.1 LEN=32 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=1 ID=0 DF PROTO=2
....
Jul 8 10:29:08 minibox42 kernel: [ 8643.045516] [UFW BLOCK] IN=wlp2s0 OUT= MAC=01:00:5e:00:00:01:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:00 SRC=192.168.1.1 DST=224.0.0.1 LEN=32 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=1 ID=0 DF PROTO=2
Jul 8 10:29:22 minibox42 PackageKit: daemon quit
Jul 8 10:29:22 minibox42 systemd[1]: packagekit.service: Main process exited, code=killed, status=15/TERM
Jul 8 10:29:22 minibox42 systemd[1]: packagekit.service: Succeeded.
Jul 8 10:29:23 minibox42 kernel: [ 8658.098758] [UFW BLOCK] IN=wlp2s0 OUT= MAC=01:00:5e:00:00:01:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:00 SRC=192.168.1.1 DST=224.0.0.1 LEN=32 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=1 ID=0 DF PROTO=2

Re: FreeRDP session looses mouse

Posted: Thu Jul 16, 2020 9:27 am
by jwiz
FreeRDP in LMDE4 (Buster) is a piece of garbage.
The session keels over even if I'm working in it.
Any ideas when FreeRDP 2.1.2 from testing will make it into stable?
Otherwise I will have to go back to Mint 19.3