Please standardize software instalation to single click.

Suggestions and feedback for Linux Mint and the forums
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read: Where to post ideas & feature requests
ynnebbenny

Please standardize software instalation to single click.

Post by ynnebbenny »

Hi All, I have been using Mint for a few years now.
While I like the software installer module (Forgotten its exact name) I find it is often out of date to newer software releases.
Take Firefox for instance. I have downloaded the package but now see there is a list of BS hoops to jump through in order to instal it.
In Windows its a simple exe, and off you go.
How hard is it to have a standard installer similar to windows exe's
Another thing that I find ironic, is that I have installed Google Picasa under WINE, simply because it is a later and more thorough version than the Linux equivalent.
This is the same with other softwares too. Even Blender that has its roots native to Linux, is much easier to instal in a windows environment. Whats the deal ???

I REALLY want to like Linux, but find it still has some basic annoyances that need refining

That been said, thanks to everyones contributions.

Benny
veggen

Re: Pleeeeease standardize software instalation to single cl

Post by veggen »