Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Write suggestions and new ideas in here
More ideas here http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/welcome
Forum rules
  • Only post ideas here that are specifically about the Linux Mint distribution or its websites.
  • So that developers and users from any distribution can discuss ideas in one place, post ideas about improving software to the collaboration website for that software instead.
Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby Husse » Wed Jul 23, 2008 7:45 am

Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

msuggs
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 879
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:25 am
Location: non-local
Contact:

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby msuggs » Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:02 am



I have found the same problem meaning I can only do mintUpdates at home and not at work where I have considerably faster bandwidth. Synaptic has a separate network proxy setting to the system one. I thought mintUpdate would pick this up.

AiSee

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby AiSee » Wed Jul 30, 2008 1:15 am

That's easy ;)
This tool uses wget to connect servers. So, just fix /etc/wgetrc
Find strings after

Code: Select all

# You can set the default proxies for Wget to use for http and ftp.
# They will override the value in the environment.

And write down your proxy settings, after that, uncomment string

Code: Select all

use_proxy = on

That's all =)

И будет тебе счастье ;)

msuggs
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 879
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:25 am
Location: non-local
Contact:

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby msuggs » Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:48 am

Actually just uncommenting 'use_proxy=on' seems to tell wget to use the settings in the Network Proxy Preferences. No need to add proxy server settings to wgetrc. Need to test more at work tomorrow :)

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby Husse » Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:15 am

An option in mintUpdate for this then....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

msuggs
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 879
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:25 am
Location: non-local
Contact:

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby msuggs » Wed Jul 30, 2008 6:40 pm

omns wrote:Actually just uncommenting 'use_proxy=on' seems to tell wget to use the settings in the Network Proxy Preferences. No need to add proxy server settings to wgetrc. Need to test more at work tomorrow :)


Testing in my work environment didn't work. I had to add in the proxy server and authentication settings to wgetrc to get it to connect - cumbersome.

Suggestion:
What is needed is a section in mintUpdate (network tab) to set the proxy and authentication settings. Something like the setup in Synaptic for network settings would be ideal :)

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4017
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby clem » Fri Aug 01, 2008 8:31 am

I'm ready to release mintUpdate 2.8 so I'll see if I can add that in. Ideally, under Gnome it should read the Gnome proxy settings and apply them to wget and APT. Under KDE I'm not quite sure.. and as a last resort this could also be defined in the preferences I guess.

Let me look into it.

Clem.
Music and Stars from the Sky.

Image

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4017
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby clem » Fri Aug 01, 2008 8:22 pm

Just a quick update on this. I implemented HTTP, FTP and Gopher proxy support in mintUpdate 2.8, and I also took the opportunity to move the configuration to /etc/linuxmint/mintUpdate.conf (this file won't get overwritten by future updates).

Clem.
Music and Stars from the Sky.

Image

msuggs
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 879
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:25 am
Location: non-local
Contact:

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby msuggs » Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:24 pm

clem wrote:Just a quick update on this. I implemented HTTP, FTP and Gopher proxy support in mintUpdate 2.8, and I also took the opportunity to move the configuration to /etc/linuxmint/mintUpdate.conf (this file won't get overwritten by future updates).

Clem.


The proxy support in mintupdate 3.2 looks great but it needs an option to enter authentication settings

Town Stranger
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:13 pm

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby Town Stranger » Sun Aug 10, 2008 7:31 pm

Thanks for all your hard work clem & everybody in the mint project :)

I suggest that the proxy setting should have authentication setting 'case some proxies need authentication setting to use them

if it can't be done in the next update is there any way i can do it manually ?

User avatar
clem
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4017
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am
Contact:

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby clem » Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:35 pm

:| ...

Well I knew you were going to ask.. I suppose I've just been lazy. I'll add support for proxy authentication in the next update.

Clem.
Music and Stars from the Sky.

Image

msuggs
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 879
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:25 am
Location: non-local
Contact:

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby msuggs » Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:51 pm

clem wrote::| ...

Well I knew you were going to ask.. I suppose I've just been lazy. I'll add support for proxy authentication in the next update.

Clem.


Thanks Clem. This just highlights for me again what a great distro Mint is :)

bohiti

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby bohiti » Fri Dec 26, 2008 1:37 pm

Town Stranger wrote:Thanks for all your hard work clem & everybody in the mint project :)

I suggest that the proxy setting should have authentication setting 'case some proxies need authentication setting to use them

if it can't be done in the next update is there any way i can do it manually ?


# sudo su
# export http_proxy="http://domain\\username:password@proxyserver:port"

User avatar
hsoltau
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:20 am
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby hsoltau » Fri May 29, 2009 5:21 am

hi all,

i am on Mint7 behind a proxy that needs authentication...

what happend to the promised proxy authentication in mint update ? :D

i tried the tip to use 127.0.0.1 as the ping address, that works just to show the available updates, but when i say to install the updates i get this:

W: Failed to fetch http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/m ... 2_i386.deb
407 Proxy Authentication Required

is there a workaround ?

thank you
Henning
8)

User avatar
hsoltau
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 8:20 am
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby hsoltau » Fri May 29, 2009 6:05 am

after editing the authentication user and password in the package manager mint update installs the updates... :D

the only problem now is that installing the hardware drivers for my nvidia card, i click on activate the recommended driver, but all i get is a red sign with out any explaining text...

thanks
Henning
:D

edit: i've used envy ng to install the driver, now that worked...

User avatar
jesica
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2614
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 3:54 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby jesica » Wed Apr 21, 2010 6:35 am

How can I get the fix update without going through the proxy, because I do not have internet at my house
Image

My Linux Counter number # 566377
Mate
IT Ninja
Happy apt-get-ing!
Linux Mint Donar # 2159


Security is the separation of an asset from a threat.

User avatar
jesica
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2614
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 3:54 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby jesica » Thu Apr 22, 2010 3:53 am

[quote="clem"]I'm ready to release mintUpdate 2.8 so I'll see if I can add that in. Ideally, under Gnome it should read the Gnome proxy settings and apply them to wget and APT. Under KDE I'm not quite sure.. and as a last resort this could also be defined in the preferences I guess.

how do I add this in, I can not acces the internet at all because of our proxy server, I have my proxy adress username and password
Image

My Linux Counter number # 566377
Mate
IT Ninja
Happy apt-get-ing!
Linux Mint Donar # 2159


Security is the separation of an asset from a threat.

User avatar
jesica
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2614
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 3:54 am
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby jesica » Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:16 am

I give up
Image

My Linux Counter number # 566377
Mate
IT Ninja
Happy apt-get-ing!
Linux Mint Donar # 2159


Security is the separation of an asset from a threat.

jasonga
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 1:49 am

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby jasonga » Tue Apr 27, 2010 11:44 pm

Ok, I've been suffering from this problem (not being about to get mintUpdate to work with an authenticating proxy server), but after some research I worked out a solution (I'd love to say it was due to sheer brilliance... but it was more blind dumb luck ;) ).

Go into the Mint Update Manager, and go to the Proxy pane of the preferences. Turn on manual proxy configuration, and edit the HTTP proxy value to be "http://user:pass@proxy" (without the quotes) where:

user is your proxy username
pass is your proxy password
proxy is the url to your proxy server (without the usual http://, since you've already entered that at the start of the entry).

Enter the port number in the separate port box.

Edited to add: I had to get this to work again while starting to play with Mint 9 RC1, and I realised that I missed an important step. In addition to adding the proxy information as above in mintUpdate, you must also enter your proxy information in the Preferences of the Package Manager. Luckily the Package Manager has a place where you can enter your username and password for the proxy server, so you don't need to enter strange proxy addresses that include the info.

And presto - mintUpdate should now (finally) work!

rekik
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:24 pm

Re: Make mintUpdate work through proxy

Postby rekik » Tue May 11, 2010 4:34 am

Thank you jasonga, it works.


Return to “Suggestions & New Ideas”