Thanks for the Mint Team for (Kind of) Fixing These or Adding These Features

Write suggestions and new ideas in here
More ideas here http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/welcome
Forum rules
  • Only post ideas here that are specifically about the Linux Mint distribution or its websites.
  • So that developers and users from any distribution can discuss ideas in one place, post ideas about improving software to the collaboration website for that software instead.
Post Reply
happydog500
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 2:28 am
Location: United States
Contact:

Thanks for the Mint Team for (Kind of) Fixing These or Adding These Features

Post by happydog500 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:33 pm

Used Mint Cinnamon a couple years, had to switch to Ubuntu because dual monitors didn't work when 18 came out. Checked back and some of the key things the Mint Team did, that helped out really good was;

Under settings, something about "log in" there is a setting for "Default Monitor." I can check "DVI-0" and not "VGA-0". This allows Mint to boot up with the desktop on the right monitor. Thank you.

When I open up some programs, they open up on the non-default monitor. When it shows up in the bottom panel, I can right click, then chose "Open this program on the other monitor." This allows me to not have to go over and turn on the non-default monitor to bring them to the default. I can do it from here. Thank you.

Before I had to switch to Ubuntu-MATE, Audacity froze in Mint. Works beautifully in Ubuntu-MATE. When I came back and tried Mint 18.1, Audacity froze again.

I came back to try Mint 18.1, because I like Mint and wanted to come back to it. Seems buggy on my computer. I like the new features mentioned because it allows me to boot, without having to unhook my non-default monitor.

I like Mint Xfce, but in 18.1, the Mint team didn't put the default monitor in the log in, so it starts on the wrong monitor. I'd like to see Xfce in Mint have the default monitor setting in the log in preferences.

Thank you for adding the default monitor setting in the log in, and open on the other monitor when the program shows up in the panel in Mint Cinnamon.

Chris.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3957
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Thanks for the Mint Team for (Kind of) Fixing These or Adding These Features

Post by JerryF » Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:45 pm

When you say Audacity froze, at what point did it freeze? (starting the app, opening file, etc.)
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts.

happydog500
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 2:28 am
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Thanks for the Mint Team for (Kind of) Fixing These or Adding These Features

Post by happydog500 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 6:41 pm

Open audacity, add a file, freezes. Did it in 18, now in 18.1. Back when 18 came out, I deleted it and installed a different version and it worked. Maybe I can try that. Only problem is, I have a very good ubuntu now, but I'd wipe my drive and install mint. A mint that I know has problems.

I have my main drive, I plug in a drive I found in my compute box. I installed Mint to check back with it. I'm looking to wipe the main drive and replace with Mint so I was hoping everything was alright.

Thanks for the reply,
Chris.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3957
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Thanks for the Mint Team for (Kind of) Fixing These or Adding These Features

Post by JerryF » Fri Apr 07, 2017 12:41 pm

Hmm...

The reason I asked is that I have 18.1 Cinnamon 64-bit and Audacity and haven't had a problem with it.

Do you think any of your audio files are corrupt?
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts.

happydog500
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 2:28 am
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Thanks for the Mint Team for (Kind of) Fixing These or Adding These Features

Post by happydog500 » Tue Jun 13, 2017 1:38 am

JerryF wrote:Hmm...

The reason I asked is that I have 18.1 Cinnamon 64-bit and Audacity and haven't had a problem with it.

Do you think any of your audio files are corrupt?
The same files work in Windows, just not Mint. I installed Mint 17.3 (Mint 18 doesn't work with my computer) and I have the same problem. When I work on audio, I have to boot into Windows to do it.

Chris.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3957
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: Thanks for the Mint Team for (Kind of) Fixing These or Adding These Features

Post by JerryF » Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:13 am

I'm at a loss. Maybe try uninstalling and reinstalling Audacity.
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your ORIGINAL post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members when browsing posts.

Post Reply

Return to “Suggestions & New Ideas”