Add Model and Temperature of Motherboard in System Monitor

Write suggestions and new ideas in here
More ideas here http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/welcome
Forum rules
  • Only post ideas here that are specifically about the Linux Mint distribution or its websites.
  • So that developers and users from any distribution can discuss ideas in one place, post ideas about improving software to the collaboration website for that software instead.
ericcole
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:02 pm

Add Model and Temperature of Motherboard in System Monitor

Postby ericcole » Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:07 pm

Add Model and Temperature of Motherboard in System Monitor!

Will be very useful for maintenance!

User avatar
phd21
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5020
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: Add Model and Temperature of Motherboard in System Monitor

Postby phd21 » Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:34 pm

Hi "ericcole",

Welcome to the wonderful world of Linux Mint and its excellent forum !

It would help to know more about your system setup. If you run "inxi -Fxzd" from the console terminal prompt, highlight the results, copy and paste them back here, that should provide enough information.

There are various ways to display various information depending upon which edition and version of Linux Mint you are using, and a lot of those will allow you to use your own "label" and or title per sensor.

It also helps to provide a screenshot of what you already have.


For example:
This is one "widget" for KDE systems, and other Linux Mint systems have desktlets, applets, extensions, etc...
- has information on installing sensors
https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=249248&hilit=thermal+monitor

Hope this helps ...
Phd21: Mint KDE 17.3 & 18.2, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,3gb Ram,160gb hdd, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

User avatar
richyrich
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8677
Joined: Mon May 04, 2009 8:31 pm

Re: Add Model and Temperature of Motherboard in System Monitor

Postby richyrich » Wed Jul 19, 2017 6:48 pm

Do you mean something like this terminal command ?

inxi -Ms

Neil Edmond
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 794
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:19 am
Location: N.E. AR USA

Re: Add Model and Temperature of Motherboard in System Monitor

Postby Neil Edmond » Wed Jul 19, 2017 6:57 pm

Good one, richyrich! Either I did not know, or had forgotten about that one. Is there a way to have that refresh every so many seconds?

ericcole
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:02 pm

Re: Add Model and Temperature of Motherboard in System Monitor

Postby ericcole » Thu Jul 20, 2017 8:33 am

Hi phd21!

Thanks a lot!
Great command! I didn't know that!
That will help me a lot in the future!

I was thinking about to improve System Monitor for the beginners.

But that command is great!

User avatar
laederlappen
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 11:34 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Add Model and Temperature of Motherboard in System Monitor

Postby laederlappen » Thu Jul 20, 2017 9:20 pm

Neil Edmond wrote:Is there a way to have that refresh every so many seconds?


to check sensors, you only need:

Code: Select all

inxi -s


you can monitor (refresh) the output of commands by using "watch"

Code: Select all

watch -t -n 1 inxi -c 0 -s

-t only shows the output of inxi
-n is the interval, -n 1 for every second
-c 0 because the default output of inxi is color coded, -c 0 removes the color code.

You can also monitor every single value on your Panel ...

to do this you need the panel applet "CommandRunner" on Cinnamon. ("Command" on Mate)

right click panel -> add applets -> available applets online -> install CommandRunner

now to cut out the values that you like, you can use "awk".

Displays CPU Temp

Code: Select all

inxi -c 0 -s | awk /"Sen"/'{print$5}'

Displays Mobo Temp

Code: Select all

inxi -c 0 -s | awk /"Sen"/'{print$7}'

Displays GPU Temp

Code: Select all

inxi -c 0 -s | awk /"Sen"/'{print$9}'


you have to put any of these commands in a text file (script) to use them in CommandRunner.
in the preferences, tell CommandRunner the location of your script.
for example: sh /home/user/mobotemp.sh

Image

User avatar
xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24
Posts: 21458
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Add Model and Temperature of Motherboard in System Monitor

Postby xenopeek » Wed Aug 02, 2017 4:01 am

ericcole wrote:Add Model and Temperature of Motherboard in System Monitor!

Be specific. Which System Monitor? Are you on Cinnamon, MATE, Xfce or KDE? Which Linux Mint version?

Also mind that ideas for developers should better be made to the website of those developers. Once you are more specific we can point out to you where that is if you are not able to find it yourself (usually in Help > About).
Image


Return to “Suggestions & New Ideas”