Feedback from a noob user here

Suggestions and feedback for Linux Mint and the forums
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read: Where to post ideas & feature requests
TheRed-

Feedback from a noob user here

Post by TheRed- »

Hi friends, I found linux mint the best linux distributions. The Cinnamon DE is very rock solid and, in general the Mint Cinnamon version is ready (almost) out of the box. Here I want to share with you some things whici I've found improvable:

- Install TLP by default. (Remember I'm a noob user, so I don't know why my laptop battery life is so poor)
- Turn on the firewall by default
- Install rar and p7zip by default.
- Improve the design of the Software Manager. All that grey is horrible.
- The panel windows list is absolutely not good. I replaced it with "Icing Task Manager", but remember I'm noob user and I would like a better windows list by default like this extension
- Improve the trackpad gesture (like in Mac)
- Notification when new Mint version is available!!!
- Allow the ctrl+c and ctrl+v buttons when copy/paste on terminal by default

And if possible:
- The Mint-Y theme is fine, but not enough. Improve the overall design. This part I think is very important...some my friends avoided Mint Cinnamon because of the design. Look for example the Apple notebook, it's fine and many people love it.
- Make the panel semi transparent (without extensions) and bigger by default. Again, look for example Kde Plasma design.. it's absolutely wonderful..
- Install by default "Night Light"
- Possibility to change panels layout (included global menù, etc.) like in Ubuntu Mate (MATE Tweak Tool in Panel section).

You team is awesome, you work hard and I know that you can do more, I know!!

All the best :)

EDIT: I added new tips
Last edited by TheRed- on Tue Sep 19, 2017 12:34 pm, edited 2 times in total.
TheRed-

Re: Feedback from a noob user here

Post by TheRed- »

Aren't these tips useful?
jimallyn
Level 19
Level 19