Page 1 of 1

Change default location for flatpaks

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:45 pm
by Janni
Flatpak is by default stored in the root filesystem and Flatpaks can often get BIG in filesize. This causes problem for all of us that have the root filesystem on a separate partition. From early days this partition is usually allocated limited diskspace.

I would like an easy parameter switch in control panel where you have a choice to either store Flatpak in Root or /home directory.
Possibly also a button to exclude this folder from Timeshift backup (when stored in /home).

Re: Change default location for flatpaks

Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 2:49 pm
by scjet45
Janni wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:45 pm
Flatpak is by default stored in the root filesystem and Flatpaks can often get BIG in filesize. This causes problem for all of us that have the root filesystem on a separate partition. From early days this partition is usually allocated limited diskspace.

I would like an easy parameter switch in control panel where you have a choice to either store Flatpak in Root or /home directory.
Possibly also a button to exclude this folder from Timeshift backup (when stored in /home).
Agreed,
and if anything, Flatpak's,..., should be completely purgeable. !

Re: Change default location for flatpaks

Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:01 pm
by ajgringo619
See my post here: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=300427.