a suggestion for the mint desktop/ files app

Suggestions and feedback for Linux Mint and the forums
Forum rules
Do not post support questions here. Before you post read: Where to post ideas & feature requests
after_ait

a suggestion for the mint desktop/ files app

Post by after_ait »

Girls and boys thank you for providing such a useful distro, I've been using Mint for about 9 years now. I'm currently using 20.1 Cinammon, downloaded the Beta and haven't seen any option yet to upgrade to the LTS release (unless it just happened)

I have a suggestion for Cinammon, searched online and got pointed to the Linux Mint team. Obviously it could be done in other environments too.

Me, I grew up with Bell Labs Unix on a PDP-11, and have always been cool with directories and a command line interface, yet with hi res graphics and with the advent of easy, eye candy UI have got used to just dumping files on my desktop. After some time the desktop fills up and eventually i get round to filing them somewhere.

What's nice about the desktop is that you can group related files together by placing them next to each other, and if you have two groups of related files you can have two clumps of files next to each other. It's really obvious and you get a finely nuanced 'piling system' with no learning curve.

What would be really really cool would be for the files app, which is really a GUI version of 'ls' to have an option of a desktop mode. So you have the list files option, with details, and sort by name, date/time etc as is present now. And instead of a rectangular grid of icons you get to place files into little groups, just as on the desktop. This gets round the problem of too many directories, too many files, can't find anything, and it's really simple for a naive user to drive, and you still have the option of the tabular list.

If you want to be flash, you could allow other objects to be added (eg text and images).

The icon space could be bigger than the window of course.