Replace Grub by Burg?

Write suggestions and new ideas in here
More ideas here http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/welcome
Forum rules
  • Only post ideas here that are specifically about the Linux Mint distribution or its websites.
  • So that developers and users from any distribution can discuss ideas in one place, post ideas about improving software to the collaboration website for that software instead.
gorfou
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 5:27 pm

Replace Grub by Burg?

Postby gorfou » Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:05 pm

Hi!

I'm not really knowledgeable about bootloaders, but i think having a nicer default bootloader might be an asset. It might even be minty ;)

Why don't we use Burg instead of grub?

Cheers,

bernard

ps: http://code.google.com/p/burg/
And this thread spoke about it : viewtopic.php?f=46&t=66142&start=0
burg screenshots : http://code.google.com/p/burg/wiki/Screenshots

GhoS
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 135
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2009 8:41 pm

Re: Replace Grub by Burg?

Postby GhoS » Thu Mar 10, 2011 8:55 pm

Despite the fact that using Linux we do not see a bootloader often, I agree that it would be an easy way for Mint to differentiate itself by including Burg. I have been tempted to try it, but just concerned because it doesn't seem that user friendly to install. It also didn't appear to update when you updated mint, however I have not investigated it further.

Of course it hasn't been a big focus for Ubuntu, the bootloader screen, and hasn't seemed to hurt it, although that is one reason why Mint uses a simlar bootloader, less work.
Image

User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4595
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: Replace Grub by Burg?

Postby Aging Technogeek » Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:50 pm

I use Burg all the time. It is normally the first thing I install to a new OS if I am in a dual or multi-boot situation. Installing it is easier than many people think. Use this site and you will be up and running in 10 minutes.

http://code.google.com/p/burg/wiki/InstallUbuntu

Select the install method that is right for your system. Use the equivalent Ubuntu release to the Mint release you are using.

Burg has other advantages besides the improved look of the boot menu. When Burg is on screen, press "f" on your keyboard and activate the fold function. All entries (recovery, memtest, old kernels) other than the main entry for each OS will be hidden. This is a real help if you are booting 4 or 5 OS.
Registered Linux User 483387

kvv
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 2:20 pm

Re: Replace Grub by Burg?

Postby kvv » Thu Mar 10, 2011 11:29 pm

I never knew something like this existed! Is there a reason why this isn't implemented by Ubuntu and Fedora already?
Image

User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4595
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: Replace Grub by Burg?

Postby Aging Technogeek » Fri Mar 11, 2011 2:52 pm

It is not something that everyone would need or use. Unless you are dual booting, you do not see a grub menu unless you look for it and even for many who dual boot, the extra layer of code (Grub is not removed, just reskinned) would be a minor annoyance.

I guess the dev team has decided, for now, to leave things as they are. After all, Mint cannot be all things to all people, there is only so much room on a disk.

Burg is easy to install if you want it, so where's the hardship?
Registered Linux User 483387

User avatar
monkeyboy
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:30 am

Re: Replace Grub by Burg?

Postby monkeyboy » Fri Mar 11, 2011 3:13 pm

Aging Technogeek wrote:It is not something that everyone would need or use. Unless you are dual booting, you do not see a grub menu unless you look for it and even for many who dual boot, the extra layer of code (Grub is not removed, just reskinned) would be a minor annoyance.

I guess the dev team has decided, for now, to leave things as they are. After all, Mint cannot be all things to all people, there is only so much room on a disk.

Burg is easy to install if you want it, so where's the hardship?



I want an Easy Button, for everything. :lol:
If you don't like it, make something better
If you can't make something better, adapt
If you can't do either ball your panties up and cry.

Complaining is like masticating most anyone can do it.
However doing it in public is really hardcore.

lmintnewb
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1571
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:13 pm

Re: Replace Grub by Burg?

Postby lmintnewb » Mon Sep 19, 2011 5:03 am

I think the real pressing question here we'd all like to know. Is how did ATG teach that dog to type and surf the net ? :D Smart lil booger, it even found it's way to bone.com ... yikes.

User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4595
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: Replace Grub by Burg?

Postby Aging Technogeek » Mon Sep 19, 2011 5:13 am

Richwest,

I think you will find that, although sdb is the drive holding your default OS, grub was installed to the Windows mbr on sda. This is where Burg must go if it is to work.

lmintnewb,

That shows you how easy it is to learn Linux. I tried to teach that pup Windows 7 for 6 months with no success. He picked up Linux Mint on his own.
Registered Linux User 483387

lmintnewb
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1571
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:13 pm

Re: Replace Grub by Burg?

Postby lmintnewb » Mon Sep 19, 2011 5:40 am

LMAO ... nice. :D

Cute lil feller though, sheesh he looks like he knows more about gnu/nix than I do. Good teacher makes all the diff. ;)


Return to “Suggestions & New Ideas”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests