Tabbed desktop?

Write suggestions and new ideas in here
More ideas here http://community.linuxmint.com/idea/welcome
Forum rules
No support questions here please.
Do not post ideas for application developers. Please use GitHub for Cinnamon and Nemo ideas.
superdelphinus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:09 am

Tabbed desktop?

Postby superdelphinus » Thu Nov 22, 2007 9:34 am

Loving Mint 4 - fantastic OS

One thing i thought might be quite good for the future would be to have tabbed desktops (sort of like tabbed browsing but in desktop form!). The cube and expo etc are good but still require you to push at least 2 buttons and use a mouse button. having a row of tabs across the top with preview windows would be great imho

keep up the good work

User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1012
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Tabbed desktop?

Postby 900i » Thu Nov 22, 2007 10:46 am

Isn't that what Gnome's standard Workspace Switcher does already?
Intel i7 LMDE 2. Daily driver Toshiba Chromebook

User avatar
D-EJ915
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 2:14 am
Location: Virginia, USA
Contact:

Re: Tabbed desktop?

Postby D-EJ915 » Thu Nov 22, 2007 12:43 pm

I can't seem to recall any window managers that have that fuctionality, seems like an interesting idea though. You should be able to program some keystrokes into gnome that switch between workspaces. If not you could always use a different window manager.
Image

superdelphinus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:09 am

Re: Tabbed desktop?

Postby superdelphinus » Mon Nov 26, 2007 4:44 pm

I suppose it would be like the next step for those little boxes that are already there - and at the top of the screen too, like proper tabs with auto preview etc

oblivion02
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 1:35 pm

Re: Tabbed desktop?

Postby oblivion02 » Sun Dec 09, 2007 11:05 am

Sounds like a very interesting idea. I like it ;)

User avatar
bef
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:01 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Tabbed desktop?

Postby bef » Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:44 am

Functionality wise I can't see any reason not to just use the workspace switcher (1 click, no fuss and it's minimalist), but I do like this idea for visually improving the function.
Image
member 675

User avatar
curtiswtaylorjr
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Re: Tabbed desktop?

Postby curtiswtaylorjr » Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:03 pm

I like the idea of having tabbed desktop although if implemented I would like to have the option to turn it off or create more tabs aka desktops.
Image

AlexSlocker

Re: Tabbed desktop?

Postby AlexSlocker » Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:32 am

Though it's an interesting idea, in fact, on 'expo' plugin in Compiz you can use just 1 button of the mouse, because, you can cofigure it to run on a screen edge. I have configured the 'scale' (the exposé-like feature, awful name in Compiz by the way) at the top-right edge of my monitor, and 'expo' on the top-left. So if I go with the mouse to that place, they both run without keybinding.


Return to “Suggestions & New Ideas”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests