Page 1 of 1

Old PC

Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:42 am
by miansupa
First, a salute to all users of LinuxMint.
My computer is a bit old, so when I double click on the icon of a program, it takes a while to start, so I doubt if I double click it. It's a good idea, that when you double click an icon, this do it an optical effect immediately to verify that the program has been launched.
Chao

Re: Old PC

Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:57 am
by AlbertP
You can add some more RAM to your old computer to get it working faster. Or you can use the light-weight Mint 11 LXDE version instead of the normal Mint 11 (same goes for Mint 9 and 10 which are having an LXDE flavour too).

Re: Old PC

Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 11:20 am
by Imhoteps
I recommend http://www.linuxmint.com/edition.php?id=65

Here the screenie:
Image

Fast.

Re: Old PC

Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 1:56 pm
by AlbertP
Yes, Fluxbox will work as well, but for people new to Linux I'd rather stay to LXDE.

Re: Old PC

Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:22 pm
by richyrich
Yea, some cursor themes do not have much animation in their "busy" cursors. I have installed the comix, and the oxygen mouse themes from the Package Manager, in which I find that both have nice "busy" cursors.

Re: Old PC

Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 10:40 am
by nunol
I add the "CPU Usage Monitor" pugin to the panel so I can have an idea of what is happening with the system. If you click on a program you should see it on the "CPU Usage Monitor" as an increase in CPU usage unless you are already using the CPU at 100%.

Re: Old PC

Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 4:59 pm
by Imhoteps
I add conky :mrgreen:

Re: Old PC

Posted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:02 pm
by swiftlinuxcreator
The Debian Editions are much lighter than the Ubuntu-based editions, yet look and feel very similar. LMDE with GNOME feels faster with only 512 MB of RAM than the Ubuntu-based editions feel with 2 GB of RAM. While LMDE won't fit onto a CD, a USB drive is cheaper than a RAM upgrade and doesn't require you to access the inside of your computer. (And the RAM upgrade isn't an option if it's already maxed out.)