Page 7 of 7

Re: Auto Mount Partitions on Boot (also Windows partitions)

Posted: Sat Apr 26, 2014 10:55 am
by altair4
You need to open an editor with root privileges:

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/fstab
Make your changes then unmount the partition if you mounted it manually then run this command to remount it:

Code: Select all

sudo mount -a

Re: Auto Mount Partitions on Boot (also Windows partitions)

Posted: Wed May 07, 2014 12:27 pm
by jrmwalsh
My great thanks to Fred for his original tutorial. I managed to get connected by following his very clear directions, with the appropriate modifications for my (wife's) computer, Finch.
Finch used to be an XP-only machine, but with the demise of XP support, I am migrating her to Linux Mint, which she enjoys.
Her Thunderbird email profile is still in a Windows partition, and I wanted her to be able to access all her mail in the same profile, no matter whether she boots to Windows or Linux.
My attempts at solving this issue, by pointing the Thunderbird "profiles.ini" file (in the Linux partition) to the Thunderbird profile in the Windows partition, worked up to a point, but I had to ask Linux to actually open the Windows partition each time she turned her computer on, otherwise Thunderbird could not find the Windows profile.
I did try Menu > Preferences > Disks > More Actions > Edit Mount Options > etc, etc., but it would NOT make the changes to the fstab file. I had to go in and change the fstab file manually.
I used Fred's tutorial and edited fstab successfully; and now Linux opens the Windows file system properly every time.

Thank you Fred.

Re: Auto Mount Partitions on Boot (also Windows partitions)

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2016 6:09 am
by F3Spirit
Hi,
i am a total Noob.
I read this and other posts in this forum about this topic but i don't get my data HDD to auto mount.

I Have a dualboot system (Win8.1 and Mint 17.2 64bit). Both have there own SSD and i have a HDD to store all my Data.
I need to get this Data HDD auto-mounted in Mint 17.2

Is there still no UI-solution to this, do i get that right?
And if so how do i do this from Terminal exactly, because to me the lines of code i see about this topic, i don't understand. But i would like to understand the lines, if there is no UI way, to learn how to fix this.