To mount Windows 10 automatically

Write tutorials here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Please don't add support questions to tutorials,start your own thread in the appropriate sub-forum instead. Before you post please read this
Post Reply
User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5881
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

To mount Windows 10 automatically

Post by administrollaattori » Thu Oct 13, 2016 10:57 am

If you have a dual-boot with linux and Windows 10, Windows used to set itself to the hibernation mode. A simple and fast way to mount windows partition is to remove hiberfile via /etc/rc.local file.

An example Windows 10 on the partition /dev/sda2:

... add to the /etc/rc.local file line

Code: Select all

ntfs-3g -o remove_hiberfile /dev/sda2 /mnt/windows
The mount-point must make also for Windows

Code: Select all

sudo mkdir /mnt/windows
Now Windows mounts automatically under /mnt/windows
If wanting to make a symbolic link to the user's home diretory, run

Code: Select all

ln -s /mnt/windows /home/user_name_here

User avatar
racer-x
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 314
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 9:05 am
Location: Area 51

Re: To mount Windows 10 automatically

Post by racer-x » Fri Oct 14, 2016 8:05 pm

I've been dual-booting Win10 / Linux Mint on my desktop for over a year now. I disabled hibernation in windows via:

Code: Select all

Disable Hibernation
A)Type cmd in the windows start menu search box, then right click on cmd.exe and choose Run as administrator.
B)In the command prompt type in powercfg –h off and hit enter. You must reboot for this to take effect.
Then I installed Linux Mint. Never had any problems mounting windows when I selected it in the boot loader.

Or are you saying boot to windows as default?

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5881
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: To mount Windows 10 automatically

Post by administrollaattori » Sat Oct 15, 2016 2:55 pm

racer-x wrote: Or are you saying boot to windows as default?
No. I have also removed hibernation via CMD (powercfg -h off), but Mint claims that there is a problem with mounting Windows.

A new feature in Windows 10?

PS. That Windows 10 is on the test-computer and it has not activated (only for testing). :wink:

User avatar
racer-x
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 314
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 9:05 am
Location: Area 51

Re: To mount Windows 10 automatically

Post by racer-x » Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:08 pm

Perhaps it's because you left behind the Hibernate.sys file (or whatever it's called, I can't remember). I deleted mine to cut down on restore image size.

User avatar
z31fanatic
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 905
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 5:25 pm
Location: Pennsylvania

Re: To mount Windows 10 automatically

Post by z31fanatic » Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:25 pm

n00bs :P

Stop messing with hibernation files and just turn off fast startup.

How do I enable or disable fast startup?

Open Control Panel.
Click Power Options.
Click Choose what the power buttons do.
Click Change settings that are currently unavailable.
Scroll down to Shutdown settings and uncheck Turn on fast startup.
Click Save changes.

User avatar
racer-x
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 314
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 9:05 am
Location: Area 51

Re: To mount Windows 10 automatically

Post by racer-x » Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:43 pm

Mine doesn't have option to disable "fast startup". Probably because I already disabled hibernation. Sooooo, same thing.......

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5881
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: To mount Windows 10 automatically

Post by administrollaattori » Sun Oct 16, 2016 12:15 am

z31fanatic wrote:n00bs :P

Stop messing with hibernation files and just turn off fast startup.

How do I enable or disable fast startup?

Open Control Panel.
Click Power Options.
Click Choose what the power buttons do.
Click Change settings that are currently unavailable.
Scroll down to Shutdown settings and uncheck Turn on fast startup.
Click Save changes.
Cough .. the first thing with all windowses is to remove fast startup. :wink:

n00bs .. :wink:

Post Reply

Return to “Tutorials”