Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Write tutorials here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Please don't add support questions to tutorials,start your own thread in the appropriate sub-forum instead. Before you post please read this
User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by markcynt »

I just used Remastersys with the complete backup mode and it's simple as pie.

Not only is it a complete backup but the LIVE CD portion is also fully customised with all of your programs and settings minus the fancy graphics effects.

While installing the backup I opened FF and all my favorites and extensions were there. I was even still logged in to gmail and my home page.

After I installed and rebooted to the new installation everything was just as before minus the desktop effects.

All I had to do was run

Code: Select all

sudo nvidia-xconfig
, logout, login, and run

Code: Select all

sudo nvidia-settings
to reconfigure my graphics.


Here is a guide.

http://maketecheasier.com/backup-ubuntu ... 2008/12/22

Instead of adding

Code: Select all

deb http://www.remastersys.klikit-linux.com/repository remastersys/
to the repository list I added this

Code: Select all

# Remastersys
deb http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/repository karmic/
as advised here on the Remastersys website http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/ubuntu.html

Edit: For KDE users - I had trouble starting the installer in KDE. If you have this problem simply run this command in the terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo ubiquity kde_ui
Last edited by markcynt on Wed Jun 16, 2010 9:34 am, edited 8 times in total.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

exploder
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5526
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA
Contact:

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by exploder »

Thank you for posting this! That was the best "How To" for using Remastersys I have ever read! I backed up my installed system with no problems at all. I have a lot of customizations to my system, the Intel fix, Transmission and Pidgin from removed, OpenOffice 3.1 from the ppa repo and lots of little tweaks and refinements. You have saved me hours of work should I have to reinstall the system! Thanks again for the link and the additional information you provided!

Edit: If you have done a lot of customization to your system I highly recommend using this "How To" and back up your system.

User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by markcynt »

Thanks exploder,

TBO I was truly blown away at how easy it was and while I was checking around for guides I noticed most are outdated. So I tried to make it newbie friendly, since I'm not really that far removed from being a newb myself.

Everyone and I do mean everyone, should use this great program. The ability to make custom install disks that easily is just awesome.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

User avatar
ibm450
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:56 am
Location: Hamilton Hill, Western Australia

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by ibm450 »

Great post 8)

Will try when i get back to my room after work.....
Sony i3 - VPCEB13FG laptop ~ LM19.2 - ZorinOS 15 - Win 10
Image

User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4578
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by Aging Technogeek »

If you back up your system with remastersys, let me recommend using K3b to burn the .iso file to disk. I find it much easier to use than Brasero, partly due to the excellent KDE style GUI. It also automatically computes the md5 sum of every file it burns so cross checking is easy. It also has a disk verify utility you can select to run after a disk is burned. I have never had a bad burn with K3b.
Registered Linux User 483387

User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by markcynt »

I still use Brasero while in Mint or Ubuntu but K3b is definitely a superior program.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4578
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by Aging Technogeek »

One note about remastersys. It will not copy any proprietary drivers you may have installed. If you use the ATI or NVidia drivers for your graphics card, you will need to reinstall them after installing the OS.
Registered Linux User 483387

User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by markcynt »

Aging Technogeek wrote:One note about remastersys. It will not copy any proprietary drivers you may have installed. If you use the ATI or NVidia drivers for your graphics card, you will need to reinstall them after installing the OS.
Actually, that's not entirely accurate.

I know nothing about ATI or Intel graphics but If using nVidia drivers one just needs to run sudo nvidia-xconfig after restoring the system, log out, log in, and everything will be as before. Works for me with the 180 drivers provided by MInt and with the 185.18.14 drivers I installed the other day.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

User avatar
ibm450
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:56 am
Location: Hamilton Hill, Western Australia

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by ibm450 »

absolutely BRILLIANT !!!

what a great software this is! its exactly what i was after as i work away and experiment alot on this distro. its god sent especially when you down load heaps of updates and customize your system the way you want.

now i can play and fiddle with all the settings in config etc with out feeling fustrated that i have to re download all the updates and software again.....love it :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Sony i3 - VPCEB13FG laptop ~ LM19.2 - ZorinOS 15 - Win 10
Image

User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by markcynt »

There's a quite a few reasons this is better than cloning software IMO.

1) When you go to restore with the custom Live CD you made it brings up the same great desktop and settings you made minus the compiz effects.

2) If you like to surf the net while installing, all of your add-ons, bookmarks and saved passwords are still there.

3) It uses the Ubiquity installer so you can set new partition sizes if you want to.

4) You can make custom Live Cd's for family and friends instead of having to go to their house to install and customize.

5) It's simple.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by markcynt »

I used Remastersys to reinstall Mint KDE yesterday and the installer did not want to open. I tried to double-click, tried right-click>Open but the installer wouldn't launch.

To get it to open I had to run this command in the terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo ubiquity kde_ui
This will work every time.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

User avatar
ibm450
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:56 am
Location: Hamilton Hill, Western Australia

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by ibm450 »

markcynt wrote:I used Remastersys to reinstall Mint KDE yesterday and the installer did not want to open. I tried to double-click, tried right-click>Open but the installer wouldn't launch.

To get it to open I had to run this command in the terminal:

Code: Select all

sudo ubiquity kde_ui
This will work every time.
what about in the control center? system ->install
Sony i3 - VPCEB13FG laptop ~ LM19.2 - ZorinOS 15 - Win 10
Image

User avatar
ibm450
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:56 am
Location: Hamilton Hill, Western Australia

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by ibm450 »

oops, sorry, just read your last line
This will work every time.
:oops:
Sony i3 - VPCEB13FG laptop ~ LM19.2 - ZorinOS 15 - Win 10
Image

User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by markcynt »

Yeah, I only posted this so others would see it. Plus I edited my original post.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

truckerjay
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2009 12:01 am

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by truckerjay »

Trying to get remastersys have put in the info in terminal like the guide says one thing is says deb not found?

User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by markcynt »

truckerjay wrote:Trying to get remastersys have put in the info in terminal like the guide says one thing is says deb not found?
I'm not really sure what you're saying here.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

User avatar
dlkreations
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 781
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:40 pm
Location: Orange County, California
Contact:

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by dlkreations »

markcynt wrote:
truckerjay wrote:Trying to get remastersys have put in the info in terminal like the guide says one thing is says deb not found?
I'm not really sure what you're saying here.
I believe he didn't add the repository correctly.

Truckerjay,

Follow this line by line, and you should get it installed and running fine.
In your terminal,

Code: Select all

gksu gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
Add the following line to the end of the file. Save and exit

Code: Select all

# Remastersys
deb http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/repository ubuntu/
Update the repositories and install Remastersys

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install remastersys
Once the installation has finished, go to System -> Administration -> Remastersys Backup
Image
It's perfectly OK to express an opinion, but refrain from foul and stupid language
- Husse

User avatar
Aging Technogeek
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4578
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:54 am
Location: Right about here

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by Aging Technogeek »

A possible difficulty with using Remastersys on large installations. See here

http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.p ... &sk=t&sd=a

and here

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ISO_9660#T ... size_limit

It appears that, although the Wikipedia article says Linux supports multiple extents for files larger than 4 Gib, this may not always be true. A work-around such as that described in the first reference above may be needed
Registered Linux User 483387

User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 777
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by mzsade »

Hi, i have added the line you advised to the sources list as below:
## ------------------
## OTHER REPOSITORIES
## ------------------

## +++ Canonical (stable) +++
deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ jaunty partner

## +++ Medibuntu (stable) +++
deb http://packages.medibuntu.org/ jaunty free non-free

## Remastersys

deb http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/repository ubuntu/

but remastersys is not showing in my Synaptic. What am i doing wrong, i did 'Reload' after that, yet no joy?
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008

User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3337
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by Fred »

mzsade,

Right now the repository isn't there. It may be down temporarily or possibly moved. I just went there and it gave me a 404 error.

Try again later. It is better to just copy & past the commands in the terminal like Don's instructions in the above post. You would then have seen that the repo was not active.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.

Post Reply

Return to “Tutorials”