Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Write tutorials here
There are more tutorials here http://community.linuxmint.com/tutorial/welcome
Forum rules
Please don't add support questions to tutorials,start your own thread in the appropriate sub-forum instead. Before you post please read this
User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 777
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by mzsade »

Okay, i installed remastersys through the terminal as per the instructions and i got Remastersys Backup and Remastersys Grub installer in my Menu, but it still doesn't show in Synaptic,
secondly, when i try running it from there, either nothing happens, or, i get this, "A malicious client may be eavesdropping on your session or you may have just clicked a menu or some application just decided to get focus.

Try again.". I am confused, two different random responses to the same input, i.e. clicking on Remastersys Backup?
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008

User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 777
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by mzsade »

I reedited my sources list and this time i used the other apt line, i.e. deb http://www.remastersys.klikit-linux.com/repository/ remastersys/...and it worked! Now i would like to make a complete backup and include selected user data because as it is the file ends up being larger than 4 GB. How do i exclude data, there is an option called Modify but clicking on 'files to exclude = ' doesn't give me the file browser or anything like that, from which i could select files to exclude, nor can i type anything there; it just takes me back to the original menu. Is moving extra stuff elsewhere the only option? I remember we did use to have a 'files to exclude' option that worked before (about 5 - 6 months ago).

Edit: After a first use, even this Remastersys doesn't open from the Menu, same error message. I got around it with this command: sudo remastersys-gui.

Would appreciate it though, if i could know why Remastersys gives that error message and won't open from the Menu, might learn something from it.
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008

User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by markcynt »

You may want to try the Remastersys forum.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=w ... cfczsWi1EQ
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

User avatar
mzsade
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 777
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:36 am

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by mzsade »

Further to my post, my attempts to make a remastersys recovery disk finally 'buggered' up my system when i interrupted the process in the middle, and i had to reinstall. It would be nice if a stable version of it was included in the Mint repository (level 2 update), because i suspect the installation from the ppa was somehow responsible for it. Is there any possibility of this happening soon?
Linux User #481272 Reg: 15th Sept., 2008

walterav
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 42
Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 5:25 am

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys encrypted homedir

Post by walterav »

Remastersys works with LinuxMint8 except for encrypted homedir install. Ubiquity gives an error and installation fails. The following link explaines how I made the livecd.

http://geekconnection.org/remastersys/f ... opic=482.0

I remember that LinuxMint 7 came without encrypted homedir function although Ubuntu 9.04 supported it. Is it a problem with Mint?

brucewagner
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by brucewagner »

I have a pretty basic question about all this.

I want to create a bootable / installable live CD of my complete configuration, as described, with all of my customizations, favorites, launch icons, theme, everything... even all of my installed apps...

I want to make this for a dozen of my friends.

Should I use the "backup" mode - to capture everything I want to capture.... and then rename their user name & password after they install...?

Or should I use the "distro" mode? ( Will that capture EERYTHING?)

User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by markcynt »

You want "Complete Backup".

When you boot to the ISO you burn and run the installer it will be just like a regular Mint install, with all the same options, and questions.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

User avatar
ibm450
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:56 am
Location: Hamilton Hill, Western Australia

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by ibm450 »

-o0o-
  • Thankyou 8)
Sony i3 - VPCEB13FG laptop ~ LM19.2 - ZorinOS 15 - Win 10
Image

brucewagner
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by brucewagner »

Yes... Thank you!
I'll be trying this soon...
So when I do a Complete Backup - even with my own usernane logged in - it will allow me to create a new different user... when I install it again from the DVD....?

User avatar
markcynt
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1115
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Lakeland Florida

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by markcynt »

Yes it will be just like installing a regular version of Mint.
Image
P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 3GHZ X 2
2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
2x320GB Hitachi
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

brucewagner
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by brucewagner »

Thank you. Thank you.

Mister.T
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:10 am

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by Mister.T »

Not sure if this has been asked before but will it work with lmde
LMDE4
HP Pavilion 500-260ea
8Gb ram
AMD A10 6700 (3.7GHz) 4 core
Nvidia GTX 645

User avatar
tdockery97
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5062
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Mt. Angel, Oregon

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by tdockery97 »

Mister.T wrote:Not sure if this has been asked before but will it work with lmde
According to the Remastersys site it should: http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/
Mint Cinnamon 19.3

User avatar
ibm450
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 600
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:56 am
Location: Hamilton Hill, Western Australia

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by ibm450 »

has anyone used this and the backup worked on kernels greater then .36 right up to the new 3.0+ kernels
:?:
Sony i3 - VPCEB13FG laptop ~ LM19.2 - ZorinOS 15 - Win 10
Image

User avatar
ukbrian
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 272
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:03 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK

Re: Complete Mint Backup - Remastersys

Post by ukbrian »

I don't think it will work
quote from second post from remastersys forum
http://www.remastersys.com/forums/index ... pic=1460.0
If you are using the Linux Mint based on debian then it will not work since they did their own live setup for it. Remastersys for debian only works with the debian live system.
Shame as being able to remastersys your install would be a huge advantage. :(

Post Reply

Return to “Tutorials”